Resources for Spanish

Library resources available for students studying spanish.

Hispanic Life in America

Hispanic Life in America | NewsBank ** This link opens in a new window
The content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news
sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications.HLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science
and technology, and society and culture. Coverage runs from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.

Diccionario de la lengua española

Dictionary of the Royal Academy
It is produced, edited, and published by the Real Academia Española with participation of the Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española (ASALE; English: Association of Academies of the Spanish Language). It was first published in 1780, and subsequent editions have been published about once a decade.

Finding Articles on Spanish Language, Literature & History

Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Biography: In Context | Gale ** This link opens in a new window
This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
Dissertations & Theses A&I | ProQuest ** This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. (Some full text)
eBook Collection | EBSCO ** [see Note] This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive collection of e-book titles online.
Fuente Acadmica | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
HathiTrust Digital Library ** This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions that provides access to millions of titles (books, journals, etc.) viewable in PDF format.
JSTOR ** This link opens in a new window
The library’s subscription to JSTOR includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, and VII Collections. The Arts & Sciences Collections represent the building blocks of an multi-disciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. (Linked full text)
Project Muse ** This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, online access to humanities and social sciences journals. Dupré Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the arts and humanities. (No full text)

Finding an Article Citation

Found an article you think you need but can't find the full-text in the Dupré Library Catalog or article database?

Publication Finder
Publication Finder allows you to search for journals by title or subject, browse journals by subject and search within those journals.

Ordering Articles Not Available at Dupré Library

Many online databases link to full-text articles, either directly or through the LinkSource service. If the article is not available full-text, LinkSource can search Dupré Library's holdings for a print copy of the article. LinkSource also facilitates an Interlibrary Loan ILLiad request when a Dupré Library copy is not available, which allows you to order the article via Interlibrary Loan. Look for the Link Source logo when using online databases.