Loading...

Most Viewed in April

Resources for Distance Learners

A guide to the library resources and services available to distance learners at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette

A Guide to the Ernest J. Gaines Center

This guide will give you information about Ernest J. Gaines and the Gaines Center at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Resources for Nursing

This guide introduces nursing students to library and web resources available to help them with their research.

Integrating the Library into Moodle

This guide helps University of Louisiana at Lafayette faculty integrate library services and resources into their Moodle courses.

Commercial Document Delivery Providers

A brief list of commercial suppliers that provide document delivery of articles and other content to individuals.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

This guide provides faculty a basic understanding of Open Educational Resources (OER), including how to find, evaluate, use and adapt OER materials for their own courses.

Resources for Distance Instructors

A brief guide to Dupré Library resources and services for distance instructors.

Creating Permalinks

This guide shows you how to locate and create permalinks to online resources in Dupré Library's catalog and databases.

Edith Garland Dupré Library Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Papers 2020

The annual Caffery Competition honors the most outstanding original student scholarly paper written using special collections materials from Dupré Library.

Database List


Hours & Directions

Dupré Library Hours


Hours subject to change.
Check Hours & Directions or call (337) 482-6025 to confirm hours.




Dupré News & Events

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Tweets by @DupreLibrary




Got Questions?

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Text: (337) 205-7558
In Person: 1st Floor of the Library
Phone: (337) 482-6030
Email: reference@louisiana.edu
Submit Your Question
Hours & Directions

NOTE: Our chat and email reference services are intended primarily for the University of Louisiana at Lafayette students, faculty and staff.

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases

Remote access

Most of the databases can be accessed from off-campus. If prompted, enter a University ID and password to access a database. To obtain a University ID and password, faculty, staff, and students may visit the University IT Help Desk.


Having trouble accessing library databases from off-campus?

If you are unable to access the Library databases from off-campus, call the Reference Desk at (337) 482-6030.

In addition, you may try the following steps:

  • Make sure cookies are enabled.
  • Clear cookies & cache.
  • Try opening a new window.
  • Try another browser.
  • Try rebooting your computer.
  • Try another computer, if possible.

When the Library is closed and multiple databases from different providers (for example, JSTOR and Academic Search Complete) are unavailable from off-campus, the University IT Help Desk may be able to help you. Contact them at (337) 482-5516 or ithelp@louisiana.edu.





Credo Reference

Credo Logo



Credo's Mind Map is a brainstorming tool to find related terms and expand your search.



Titles added to the Credo collection in May:

Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Edward A. IronsEncyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Buddhism
by Edward A. Irons

Encyclopedia of Buddhism provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today.

Find In Credo
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism by Frank K. FlinnEncyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism
by Frank K. Flinn

Encyclopedia of Catholicism covers the key people, movements, institutions, practices, and doctrines of Roman Catholicism from its earliest origins. Focusing on the living faith and its historical and social background, this volume provides academic and college students with the tools to help them understand this multifaceted religion.

Find In Credo
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Islam by Juan E. CampoEncyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Islam
by Juan E. Campo

In about 550 A-to-Z entries, Encyclopedia of Islam explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam, and a chronology, a detailed bibliography complete the work.

Find In Credo
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Judaism by Sara E. Karesh and Mitchell M. HurvitzEncyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Judaism
by Sara E. Karesh and Mitchell M. Hurvitz

Encyclopedia of Judaism, Second Edition explores a religion with a 2,000-year recorded history that has been a part of the culture of almost every country around the globe. Encapsulating Jewish language, laws, literature, arts, theology, ritual, land, culture, and personalities, this authoritative volume offers readers access to Judaism from both a historical and contemporary perspective.

Find In Credo

Science Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Don Rittner and Ronald A. BaileyScience Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Chemistry
by Don Rittner and Ronald A. Bailey

Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Revised Edition is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide academic and early college students with the most complete information available.

Find In Credo
Science Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Marine Science by C. Reid Nichols and Robert G. WilliamsScience Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Marine Science
by C. Reid Nichols and Robert G. Williams

Encyclopedia of Marine Science, Revised Edition explores the principal areas and issues of this core discipline in hundreds of entries, essays, photographs, and line illustrations. This comprehensive encyclopedia brings together information on marine science from its component and affiliate sciences, along with information on technology, commerce, business, society, history, and more.

Find In Credo
Science Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy by Joseph A. AngeloScience Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy
by Joseph A. Angelo

Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy, Revised Edition, offers a complete, up-to-date presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy. The encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration. Broad coverage includes terms such as astrophysics, planetary engineering, and cosmology, as well as both American and international astronomy and space technology.

Find In Credo
Latin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) by Thomas M. LeonardLatin American History and Culture: Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present)
by Thomas M. Leonard

Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day.

Find In Credo

Study Cubicles

Individual study cubicles are available to undergraduate students on the 2nd of the Library.

Cubicles are assigned on a first come, first served basis, and will be subject to a two-hour time limit as demand requires.

Stop by the Circulation Desk to get a key.

Find more information:

Collaboration Stations

Three (3) student Collaboration Stations can be found on the 2nd Floor of the Library across the hall from the STEP Lab.

  • Large monitors and whiteboards allow groups to view information, work together on projects and create group presentations.
  • Network drops are available to ensure Internet access.
  • Students can check out data and HDMI cables at the Circulation Desk to connect laptops/tablets to the network and monitors.

The Collaboration Stations are available thanks to a STEP (Student Technology Enhancement Program) grant. 

collaboration station

About Edith Garland Dupré Library

Edith Garland Dupré Library is centrally located at the heart of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette's main campus. The Library is open to students, faculty, staff, and the public. Here, you have access to resources spanning more than 1.5 million bound volumes, 2 million microform units, 6,000 serial titles, print and non-print back files, over 200 databases, 500,000 eBooks and an array of special collection items from the Cajun & Creole Music Collection (CCMC), the Louisiana Room (which includes the Jefferson Caffery Reading Room), the Rare Book Collection, the University Archives & Manuscripts Collection, U.S. Government Information, the Ernest J. Gaines Center collection and Blanco Public Policy Center collection (Coming Soon).

Most of the Library's collections are available online through the Library Catalog. Affiliated libraries include the Instructional Materials Center and Reading Center, both located in Maxim Doucet Hall, Room 101B & 104, the William S. Patout III Sugar Library in Patoutville, LA and the Hilliard University Art Museum located on campus.

The Library is home to several high traffic student computer labs on the first and 2nd Floors and Jazzman's Café & Bakery located in the back of the building on the 1st Floor.

The librarians at Edith Garland Dupré Library are eager to help prepare students by providing them with the resources they need for their education.