- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for Nursing
- Evidence-Based Practice Resources
Resources for Nursing
This guide introduces nursing students to library and web resources available to help them with their research.
- Find Articles in Databases
- Find Books
- Full Text Online Journals
- Database Tutorials
- Nursing Associations & Websites
- Statistics & Government Information
- Evidence-Based Practice Resources
- Patient Education
- Writing in the Nursing Field
- Interlibrary Loan
- Document & Book Delivery
- Statewide Borrowing
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 45 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality, and based on the latest evidence.
Cochrane Collection Plus
- Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new windowEBSCO's Cochrane Collection Plus is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases can be searched individually or collectively.
Cochrane Collection Plus consists of the following:
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL: Trials)a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Library)contains full-text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR - Methods Studies)a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.
- MathSciNet via EBSCOhostaccess to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Evidence-Based Nursing Journals at Dupré Library
- Publication FinderDupré Library subscribes to several journals in this field. Many of the library's journals and magazines are available online in full text. For complete access, simply type their name or subject in the Publication Finder.
- Evidence-based Nursing (Royal College)Available in ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source database
- International Journal of Evidence-Based HealthcareAvailable in EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full-Text database; most recent year not available as full-text