- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for Nursing
- Find Articles in Databases
Resources for Nursing
This guide introduces nursing students to library and web resources available to help them with their research.
- Find Articles in Databases
- Find Books
- Full Text Online Journals
- Database Tutorials
- Nursing Associations & Websites
- Statistics & Government Information
- Evidence-Based Practice Resources
- Patient Education
- Writing in the Nursing Field
- Interlibrary Loan
- Document & Book Delivery
- Statewide Borrowing
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Looking for Research Articles?
Recommended databases for nursing. View a list of nursing databases.
Need help searching the databases? Database Tutorials.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format..
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowGood for information on alternative therapies. This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete (formerly CINAHL Plus with Full Text) provides indexing for 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,460 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Watch tutorials on searching CINAHL Complete.
- Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high quality, independent evidence to inform heathcare decision-making. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessments Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. It provides full text access to more than 2,400 medical journals. Many of the most-used journals are available with no embargo, allowing users to access the information as soon as it is published.
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications.
- PubMed (website) This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 15 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Watch tutorials on searching PubMed.
- ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text scientific journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books. Subject coverage includes nursing and health professions, life sciences, and medicine and dentistry.
Find an Article With a Citation
Search These Places
- Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage and indexing of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals and dissertations on topics related to nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
- Received through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: Nursing, Communicative Disorders, Kinesiology, Health, Counseling