COLL 62 – Kenneth B. Hait Collection
Dr. Kenneth B. Hait joined the psychology department of Southwestern Louisiana Institute (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) in 1938 as the assistant head and became the head of the department the next year. He served as department head until May of 1968. This collection consists of material from classes he taught, test results, patients and experiment results, correspondence, pamphlets, and other miscellaneous materials as well.
COLL 201 – Family and Friends for the Mentally Ill (Lafayette, LA) Records
Family and Friends for the Mentally Ill (FFAMI) was one of the first mental health support groups in Louisiana. FFAMI’s main goals were to involve the patient’s family in recovery, to provide understanding and support to families, and to establish an optimistic atmosphere with recovered patients and psychiatric personnel. This collection contains working files of FFAMI arranged alphabetically and scrapbooks for the organization. Maizie Thibeaux, founder and director of the Family and Friends for the Mentally Ill, donated the collection.
COLL 263 – Marguerite Lyle Papers
Marguerite A. Richard Lyle was an associate professor of Communication at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), a communication consultant, member of the Lafayette Parish School Board, and a local civic leader. This collection contains materials on Mrs. Lyle’s research interests, including listening, memory, thinking, and communication. Besides materials from her courses, workshops, and programs, it also includes research materials she used to prepare her lectures and programs.
