Collections for College of Liberal Arts

COLL 1-B 04 c – University Archives: Communications

COLL 1-B 04 c1 – University Archives: Communications, Journalism

COLL 1-Q 08 b5 – University Archives: Marketing and Public Relations

COLL 93 – Ollie Tucker Osborne Papers

Ollie Tucker Osborne's papers detail the activities of one of Louisiana's leading advocates of women's rights during the 1970s. Osborne was extremely active in the League of Women Voters and the Evangeline ERA coalition. She attended conferences and workshops throughout the South. She was appointed to the 1977 state women's convention in Baton Rouge and was elected a state delegate to the national convention in Houston. She helped organize and coordinate a number of workshops and conferences in Louisiana on women's rights. The papers reflect Osborne's activities in the women's movement and her career in advertising. There are several scrapbooks concerning her years in New York. The largest series contains League of Women Voters records of the local and state levels. The collection includes memos, correspondence, publicity materials (a great interest of Osborne's) and, often, photographs. Her photographs of delegates to the 1973 Constitutional Convention are probably one of the better visual sources on its participants. Ollie Tucker Osborne donated the papers as part of the Women in Louisiana Collection.

COLL 163 – Yorick Chachere Collection

A collection of movie fliers advertising motion pictures which appeared in local movie theaters, especially the Bailey in Opelousas. The fliers are arranged alphabetically by title. Donated by Yorick Chachere, 1989.

COLL 182 – Prints, Sketches, and Posters Collection

This collection contains mainly published prints, sketches, posters, and photographs; and commercial product labels. Many items are pages from nineteenth-century illustrated magazines containing prints, photographs or advertisements of South Louisiana scenes and products. The collection was obtained in part with money donated by Mr. Alan Kiesel and Mr. and Mrs. Armand Brinkhaus. Many items have been purchased from Prints Old & Rare.

COLL 435 – Maurice W. duQuesnay Collection

Dr. Maurice W. duQuesnay was an English professor at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the director of the Flora Plonsky Levy Lecture Series. This collection contains materials related to the Flora Levy Lecture Series, including photographs, correspondence, articles, advertisements, and posters. Miscellaneous materials include photographs from the Levy and duQuesnay families, negatives, cassette tapes, DVDs, and books. The bulk of the materials in this collection were donated by Dr. Maurice W. duQuesnay on Feb. 19, 1999, with additional materials added later on.

COLL 492 – Andrew S. Pope Collection

Andrew Pope is a native of Jonesboro, LA. After 43 years of attending operas and concerts, he amassed a large collection with the help of many dealers. This collection contains opera and theater memorabilia Mr. Pope collected over the years. The materials include photographs of vocalists, programs, letters, publicity, music sheets, and postcards. A great number of the photographs and letters have been framed. Andrew Pope donated this collection.

MSS 89 – Florence Rosenthal Collection

Miscellaneous items found in books donated to Dupré Library. Includes advertisement from Dan Chevrolet Company, Lafayette, Louisiana, and envelope from Casa del Fresa, Hammond, Louisiana. 5 items.

MSS 105 – Andre A. Olivier Collection

Material is written by or about Andre Olivier, promoter of St. Martinville. Several items are reprints of newspaper articles issued as small broadsides.

MSS 258 – Advertisements Miscellaneous Collection

Different miscellaneous advertisements for Louisiana companies.

COLL 150 – KPEL “Prime Time” Tapes

“Prime Time” was a radio program on KPEL documenting reminiscences about the Lafayette and Acadiana area. This collection contains all 700 parts of the KPEL program.

COLL 275 – Ronald J. “Ron” Gomez, Sr. Papers

Ron Gomez was a broadcast journalist and politician. He served in the Louisiana House of Representatives (1980-1989) and was Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources under Governor Buddy Roemer (1990-1992). This collection contains political documents, newspaper clippings, and typed and recorded interviews that reflect his leadership throughout his career. It also contains banners, posters, and stickers for voting purposes when he was running for mayor of Lafayette against Kenny Bowen. Ron Gomez donated the collection.

COLL 463 – KSIG “Acadia Parish Yesterdays” Tapes

KSIG is a radio station in Crowley, Louisiana. “Acadia Parish Yesterdays” was a radio program aired weekly from 1989 to 1992. The show had guests on their weekly programs. Abstracts from the shows are listed in this collection. There is also an alphabetical list of guests.

COLL 464 – KPEL “Someplace Special” Tapes

This collection contains open-reel audio tapes from the KPEL radio station in Lafayette, Louisiana. The show “Someplace Special” aired and produced 80 programs, totaling approximately 120 minutes. The tapes have been digitized and are available in MP3 format.

MSS 72 – Victory Parade of Spotlight Bands Program

Radio Program: The Coca-Cola Company Presents “The Victory Parade of Spotlight Bands” with Frankie Masters, the Blue Network. Origination: Lafayette School of Aeronautics, Lafayette, LA. Thursday, Feb. 17, 1944. 6 pages.

MSS 248 – Jim Reeves Correspondence

Jim Reeves was an American country and popular music singer-songwriter. His records were on the charts from 1950s-1980s, and he became well known as a practitioner of the Nashville sound (a mixture of older country-style music with elements of popular music). He obtained a job as an announcer for KWKH-AM in Shreveport, Louisiana, then the home of the popular radio program Louisiana Hayride.

COLL 97 – Mary Alice Fontenot Papers

Mary Alice Fontenot Riehl was a journalist and author. As an author, Mrs. Riehl is best known for her series of children's books on Clovis Crawfish. She has also written other books for children as well as cookbooks and works on local and state history. As a journalist, she worked for many newspapers in the region including the Lafayette Advertiser, the Opelousas Daily World, and the Crowley Post-Signal. This collection focuses on Mary Alice Fontenot's journalistic and literary career. Included are research notes and photographs for some of her newspaper articles; original drawings by Eric Vincent and Keith Graves and original music by Mary Alice and Jeanne and Robert Gilmore for the Clovis Crawfish series; and text for some of her history books and children's works. She also worked as a researcher for Frances Parkinson Keyes. There are some letters from Mrs. Keyes in the collection. This collection contains scrapbooks containing clippings, reviews, photographs, correspondence, drawings, promotional material, and writings. There are also letters from school children thanking Mary Alice for visiting their classroom and some artwork and artifacts inspired by Clovis Crawfish stories. The papers were donated by Mary Alice Fontenot as part of the Women in Louisiana Collection.

COLL 190 – Miscellaneous Louisiana Newspapers Collection

This collection contains microfiched unbound Louisiana newspapers dating from 1830 to 1995. Most are from Southwestern Louisiana although there are some from the northern part of the state.

COLL 204 – Marie J. “Mario” Mamalakis Papers

Copies of articles written by Mario Mamalakis, a prolific newspaper feature writer. This collection consists of her working files and personal files. Included are her writings on real estate, Mardi Gras, Lafayette, Louisiana material, etc.

COLL 233 – Richard E. Baudouin, Jr. Papers

Richard Baudouin was a longtime journalist and former editor of the Times of Acadiana weekly newspaper. He was a keen observer of Louisiana politics and social conditions. This collection contains Mr. Baudouin’s personal papers, which are divided into two major series: personal files and working files.

COLL 246 – James H. Bradshaw Papers

Jim Bradshaw is a journalist. He is a writer for the Daily Advertiser, Lafayette, LA. He has won journalism awards for spot news reporting, feature writing, and investigative reporting. This collection consists of his writings such as "Barbs and Gems", "The Reasoner Report", and the popular "History of Acadiana", supplement to the Daily Advertiser. Also included are newspaper clippings, publications, articles, photographs, etc. This collection was donated by Jim Bradshaw.

COLL 275 – Ronald J. “Ron” Gomez, Sr. Papers

Ron Gomez was a broadcast journalist and politician. He served in the Louisiana House of Representatives (1980-1989) and was Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources under Governor Buddy Roemer (1990-1992). This collection contains political documents, newspaper clippings, and typed and recorded interviews that reflect his leadership throughout his career. It also contains banners, posters, and stickers for voting purposes when he was running for mayor of Lafayette against Kenny Bowen. Ron Gomez donated the collection.

COLL 323 – Jean S. Gentil Papers

Jean Gentil was born in France which he left in 1851 as a political exile. He arrived in St. James Parish, Louisiana in 1853. He taught foreign languages at Jefferson College in Convent, LA. In 1865 he and A.V. Roman started the newspaper La Louisianais. He edited the paper 1865-1873, 1874-1881. Almost everything in the collection is a photocopy of either publications or documents from the Kurtz Collection at the Louisiana Research Library, Tulane University. There is also a framed portrait of M. Gentil. Mrs. William Butcher of Lafayette donated gathered the material and donated it to UAAMC.

COLL 377 – Jim F. Martin, Jr. Collection

Jim Frank Martin, Jr. was an English teacher and photojournalist from Geneva County, Alabama. He currently lives in Scott, Louisiana where he pursues ancestry research, concentrating on persons whose ancestors fought, died, and/or survived the War of Northern Aggression. Jim Frank Martin, Jr donated this collection.

COLL 456 – Myrta Fair Craig Collection

Myrta Fair Craig was the editor and publisher of the Rayne Acadian-Tribune. This collection includes numerous articles written by Mrs. Craig, as well as articles about her numerous civic engagements. Also included are newspaper clippings, correspondence, photographs, and personal documents related to the life and work of Myrta Fair Craig. Myrta Fair Craig King, daughter of Mrs. Craig, donated this collection.

COLL 509 – Alton E. Broussard Collection

Alton Edmond Broussard was a newsman and professor of journalism. He taught at University of Louisiana at Lafayette for 37 years, and published many independent newspapers, including the Lafayette Guide. This collection contains the writings of Alton Broussard. The first volume is the entire Lafayette Guide newspaper. The two scrapbooks contain his articles from other newspapers, such as the Daily Advertiser. Three of Alton Broussard’s children, Mary Perrin, Sam, and Alton “Skip” II, and his son-in-law, Warren Perrin, donated this collection.

MSS 125 – A. James Alpha Documents

Legal documents related to the sale or purchase of Lafayette newspapers, the Advertiser, the Progress, and the Democrat. Photocopies. Donated by Catherine Hazel Alpha, 1990.

COLL 263 – Marguerite Lyle Papers

Marguerite A. Richard Lyle was an associate professor of Communication at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), a communication consultant, member of the Lafayette Parish School Board, and a local civic leader. This collection contains materials on Mrs. Lyle’s research interests, including listening, memory, thinking, and communication. Besides materials from her courses, workshops, and programs, it also includes research materials she used to prepare her lectures and programs.

COLL 88 – William B. MacMillan Papers

William Buchanan MacMillan was a resident of Abbeville, Louisiana since July 1928. He served as a sales promotion and public relations manager of the Louisiana State Rice Company, and was well known and highly praised for his work in flower hybridization. He also was a distinguished person in the fields of education and business. This collection contains Mr. MacMillan’s correspondence and papers, mainly concerned with his work in horticulture. Sarah Daniel of Abbeville, Louisiana donated this collection in 1978.

COLL 112 – Louisiana Intracoastal Seaway Association Records

The Louisiana Intracoastal Seaway Association (LISA), a private nonprofit organization, was created in 1958 to manage and develop Louisiana's coastal water resources. It was considered a public relations arm of the Louisiana Coastal Commission (LCC), a state-regulated agency created in 1964. LISA performed promotional and publicity functions, such as lobbying, which the LCC was restricted from doing. LCC had the authority to coordinate planning efforts in the areas of water quality, flood control, navigation, conservation of fish and wildlife resources, and environmental enhancement. This collection contains records of LISA and LCC. Material from LISA includes correspondence, Board of Directors meetings minutes, annual meeting material, speeches, scrapbooks, pamphlets, and miscellaneous items. Material from LCC include correspondence, commission meeting minutes and minute books, committees' reports, publicity and publications, legal material, and miscellaneous information. This collection is arranged chronologically. LISA donated the records for Special Collections to be its designated repository.