- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Collections for College of Liberal Arts
- Department of Criminal Justice
Collections for College of Liberal Arts
- Department of Communication
- Department of Communicative Disorders
- Department of Criminal Justice
- Department of English
- Department of History, Geography & Philosophy
- Department of Modern Languages
- Department of Political Science
- Department of Psychology
- Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Human Development & Family Science
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Criminal Justice - University Archives
COLL 1-B 04 s – University Archives: Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice - Acadiana Manuscripts Collection
COLL 21 – Henry Garland Dupré Papers
Lawyer, member of the Louisiana House of Representatives, and U. S. Representative from Louisiana. Family correspondence and correspondence between Edith Dupré and W. H. Fulham concerning a biography of Dupré entitled The Gentleman from Louisiana (1965).
COLL 58 – Mouton-Debaillon Law Firm Legal Papers
This collection consists of the files of Orther C. Mouton and Conrad Debaillon, lawyers of Lafayette, Louisiana. It includes successions and judgments from the 1910s through the 1920s.
COLL 117 – Felix Voorhies Papers
This collection reflects the career, from 1870 on, of attorney, judge and author Felix Voorhies. It contains fee books and case books generated as part of his legal practice; however, the majority of the collection consists of manuscripts, plays, short stories, and some published Voorhies writings. There is also correspondence from the early 20th century including one letter in which the Judge writes about the Evangeline legend and the true story of Emmeline Labiche which he published as part of Acadian Reminiscences. A manuscript copy of an unpublished play and a photograph of the Judge were added to the collection by Joe Voorhies, Felix Voorhies' son, at his 100th birthday party in 1983.
This collection was donated by the Voorhies family.
COLL 164 – François Richard Papers
Mainly documents related to the law practice of François Richard, fils, in St. Landry Parish and to legal matters involving the Richard family. Of special interest is a contract between a former slave owner and freedmen executed on Aug. 16, 1865. Donated by Sandra Clayton Richard in 1989.
COLL 191 – Armand J. Brinkhaus Papers
Armand Brinkhaus was a Democratic former member of both the Louisiana House of Representatives (1968-1976) and the Louisiana State Senate (1976-1996). He is particularly known for his promotion of the Council for the Development of French in Louisiana (CODOFIL). Brinkhaus created the Dr. Armand L. and Julia Thoms Brinkhaus Fund to benefit Dupré Library at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. This collection consists of his working papers while in office. It also includes information on clubs and organizations that he was active in.
COLL 203 – Richard Putnam Federal Case Records
As federal judge Richard Putnam handled many desegregation cases involving school systems in Louisiana and elsewhere. He also played a significant role in the development of maritime law as it applies to the offshore oil and gas industry. This collection consists of federal cases from Louisiana and other southern states, many of the cases dealing with school desegregation. Also included are correspondence, reports, publications, clippings, court orders, etc.
COLL 212 – Jane Bode Legal Records
Jane Bode was an attorney from Crowley, LA. This collection consists of her working files.
COLL 261 – C. H. Mouton Collection
Charles Alexandre Homer Mouton was an attorney and district judge. This collection consists of a copybook of his correspondence from 1859 to 1880. Also included is a ledger from the 1870s. Mrs. Charles (Helen Hamilton) Bailey, great-granddaughter of C.H. Mouton, donated this collection.
COLL 293 – Lessley P. Gardiner Papers
Lessley P. Gardiner was a lawyer and judge. He served as Louisiana Attorney General, 1939-1940, and as Judge on the 27th Judicial Court, 1948-1972. He was also active in civic affairs in St. Landry Parish. The collection reflects Gardiner's judicial and civic activities, especially after 1949.
COLL 522 – Louisiana State Penitentiary (LSP) Museum Photograph Collection
MSS 40 – Willie Francis Collection
Documents relating to the case of Willie Francis, a young black man convicted of murder. The first attempt to electrocute him failed. The U.S. Supreme Court rejected his appeal, and he was executed May 9, 1947.
MSS 101 – Mrs. Eugene Sorrel Collection
A miscellaneous collection including review of H.B. Stow's Uncle Tom's Cabin by Rev. Frederick Dennison Avery at a meeting of Congregational ministers in Hartford, Connecticut 1852, handwritten, 8 leaves; papers of Charles Phillippi mainly during Civil War including poems by and about prisoners and prisoner camp at Johnson's Island, Ohio. Unrestricted gift of Mrs. Eugene Sorrel.
MSS 134 – Louis St. Julien Deposition
Deposition of Louis St. Julien concerning a case of murder, which occurred in the Carencro area in 1803. [in French]. There is also a photocopy of a broadside concerning the case, 3 December 1803. [in French] Typescript, 35 pp. Donated by Clare Roy (Mrs. Ben) Thibodeaux.
MSS 268 – Edwin W. Edwards Court Document
Edwin Edwards is an American politician who served as the U.S. Representative for Louisiana's 7th congressional district from 1965 to 1972 and as the 50th Governor of Louisiana for four terms. Due to corruption charges, Edwards has served eight years in prison and is currently ineligible to run for governor. This collection contains a court document for Governor Edwards's indictment.