- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Collections for College of Liberal Arts
- Department of English
Collections for College of Liberal Arts
- Department of Communication
- Department of Communicative Disorders
- Department of Criminal Justice
- Department of English
- Department of History, Geography & Philosophy
- Department of Modern Languages
- Department of Political Science
- Department of Psychology
- Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Human Development & Family Science
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
English - University Archives
COLL 1-B 04 e – University Archives: English
English - Acadiana Manuscripts Collection
COLL 41 – Deep South Writers/Artists Conference Records
Records of an organization which conducts annual conferences for the purpose of promoting Louisiana talent and encouraging writers from other sections to explore and use literary materials available to Louisiana. Donated by the Deep South Writers and Artists Conference.
COLL 43 – Edith Garland Dupré Papers
Edith Garland Dupré was an educator and member of the first faculty of Southwestern Louisiana Industrial Institute (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) who began the first library on campus. She remained at SLII (later Southwestern Louisiana Institute) for her entire professional career, retiring in 1944. Miss Dupré is best known as an English professor, but she also served in many other capacities including registrar and chair of the Library Committee. This collection reflects Miss Dupré's life and the high regard in which she was held by the community. It contains personal papers, material referring to the early years of the University, and letters from her brother, Congressman Henry Garland Dupré. Most of the material in this collection was donated by Edith Garland Dupré, with later additions donated by Leonder Labbe and Camille Claibourne.
COLL 70 – Fortnightly Club (New Iberia, LA) Collection
The Fortnightly Club was organized in 1924 in New Iberia, Louisiana for literary study with a membership not to exceed twenty. All club activities were to stay within the vicinity of New Iberia. This collection includes very scattered records covering club activities 1924-1974. It contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, financial records, minutes, yearbooks, and scrapbooks.
COLL 97 – Mary Alice Fontenot Papers
Mary Alice Fontenot Riehl was a journalist and author. As an author, Mrs. Riehl is best known for her series of children's books on Clovis Crawfish. She has also written other books for children as well as cookbooks and works on local and state history. As a journalist, she worked for many newspapers in the region including the Lafayette Advertiser, the Opelousas Daily World, and the Crowley Post-Signal. This collection focuses on Mary Alice Fontenot's journalistic and literary career. Included are research notes and photographs for some of her newspaper articles; original drawings by Eric Vincent and Keith Graves and original music by Mary Alice and Jeanne and Robert Gilmore for the Clovis Crawfish series; and text for some of her history books and children's works. She also worked as a researcher for Frances Parkinson Keyes. There are some letters from Mrs. Keyes in the collection. This collection contains scrapbooks containing clippings, reviews, photographs, correspondence, drawings, promotional material, and writings. There are also letters from school children thanking Mary Alice for visiting their classroom and some artwork and artifacts inspired by Clovis Crawfish stories. The papers were donated by Mary Alice Fontenot as part of the Women in Louisiana Collection.
COLL 168 – Bernice Webb Papers
Dr. Bernice Webb was a professor of English, biographer, and poet. Dr. Webb’s major publications include The Basketball Man: James Naismith, Beware of Ostriches, Poetry on the Stage: William Poel, and Born to Be a Loser: The Jimmy Donley Story, a biography she co-authored with Johnnie Allan. This collection consists of her working files which include genealogy, letters, journals, correspondence, writings, publications, and other professional materials. The collection also contains Robert Webb's working files, such as biographical, professional, and personal materials. William C. Schear, Bernice Webb's son, donated the collection.
COLL 173 – Robert S. Osborne Papers
Mainly literary manuscripts of Dr. Osborne who was a long-time member of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette English Department. Donated by Ollie Tucker Osborne.
COLL 187 – Mary E. Dichmann Papers
Dr. Mary E. Dichmann was the Department Head of English at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) from 1956 to 1974. She then served as Dean of the College of Arts, Humanities, and Behavioral Sciences from 1974 until her retirement in 1983. This collection consists of her personal and professional papers, as well as some records of organizations in which she was active, such as AAUW and Phi Beta Kappa.
COLL 222 – Frank C. Flowers Collection
Frank C. Flowers attended Louisiana College and received an A.B. in 1930. He then attended Stanford University and received an A.B. in 1932. In 1939, he received his M.A. from Louisiana State University and a Ph.D. in 1941. Dr. Flowers was a member of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette faculty here in the English department from 1946-1986.
COLL 255 – Joseph E. Riehl Collection
Dr. Joseph E. Riehl was a professor in the Department of English at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now University of Louisiana at Lafayette). He did extensive research in collaboration with Dr. Edwin Marrs on the letters of Charles and Mary Lamb. This collection consists of drafts of the manuscript titled The Letters of Charles and Mary Ann Lamb, Volume IV. With the help of Leslie D. Schilling and Dean A. David Barry, Special Collections acquired this collection.
COLL 284 – Glen A. Pitre Collection
Glen Pitre is a motion picture producer and director whose works often feature life in the Louisiana wetlands. This collection consists of material pertaining to his movie Belizaire the Cajun. It also includes the original 35mm film. Glen Pitre donated the collection.
COLL 307 – Milton Henry and Patricia Kennedy Rickels Papers
Milton and Patricia Rickels taught English at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette from the 1950s until retirement. They were active scholars and published numerous books and articles. The couple received the Louisiana Humanist of the Year Award from the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities in 1990. They were also active in the civil rights movement. This collection consists of their personal and professional files, including correspondence, diaries, photographs, certificates, research files, and other papers. Donated by James Wilson, Jr.
COLL 312 – Ruth Jones Rabel Collection
Ruth Jones Rabel was an educator and author. Her works include five historical novels, poetry and short stories for adults and children, and illustrations. This collection contains copies of Mrs. Rabel’s manuscripts of her five historical novels, poems, photographs, and illustrations. Also included are correspondence and some autobiographical materials. Her daughter, Linda Anne Rabel, donated the collection.
COLL 375 – James Lee Burke Collection
Photocopy of his novel Heaven's Prisoners, with revisions.
COLL 435 – Maurice W. duQuesnay Collection
Dr. Maurice W. duQuesnay was an English professor at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the director of the Flora Plonsky Levy Lecture Series. This collection contains materials related to the Flora Levy Lecture Series, including photographs, correspondence, articles, advertisements, and posters. Miscellaneous materials include photographs from the Levy and duQuesnay families, negatives, cassette tapes, DVDs, and books. The bulk of the materials in this collection were donated by Dr. Maurice W. duQuesnay on February 19, 1999, with additional materials added later on.
COLL 473 – Emile LeBrenton Collection
This collection consists of poetry by Emile LeBrenton, New Orleans, Louisiana. Typed material.
MSS 127 – Poetical Miscellanies
Copied and possibly original poems done mainly in Philadelphia, Maryland, and Savannah. Author unknown. Several pages transcribed. Donated by Mrs. Treadway.
MSS 162 – English in Action: Practice Book U Workbook
This collection contains an English course workbook. Some of the pages are filled out. Donor and student unknown.