Skip to Main Content

Resources for History Graduate

History Databases

Find scholarly articles in these databases:

Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers | NewsBank ** This link opens in a new window
Oxford African American Studies Center ** This link opens in a new window
Biography: In Context | Gale ** This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses Global | ProQuest ** This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection | EBSCO ** [see Note] This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 | EBSCO This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust Digital Library ** This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
JSTOR ** This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni ** This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Plus | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Louisiana Digital Library ** This link opens in a new window
Milestone Documents in African American History ** This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Philosopher's Index with Full-Text | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Project Muse ** This link opens in a new window
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1867-1970 (Louisiana Maps Only) | ProQuest ** This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full-Text | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
WorldCat via FirstSearch This link opens in a new window

Open Access to Humanities & Social Sciences

Open Library of the Humanities
The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship published showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today.
Luminos (University of California Press)
Luminos is UC Press’ new Open Access (OA) monograph publishing program. It will make the digital edition of scholarly monographs available free of charge to anyone around the world. In addition to giving readers access to the work without price barriers, OA monographs will be available for online viewing as well as for download and will accommodate color images and interactive media such as maps, audio and visual material.

General Reference Sources

General

Guide to Reference: Essential General Reference and Library Science Sources

Bibliographies

Bibliography of the Official Publications of Louisiana, 1803-1934 - Z1223.5.L7 F7 (REF)
Writings on American History, 1902-1990 - Z1236 .L331

Biographies

Biography: In Context | Gale ** This link opens in a new window

Book Reviews

Harvard Book Review

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) ** This link opens in a new window

Encyclopedias

eBooks | Gale ** This link opens in a new window

Indexes

Book Review Digest - Z1219 .C96 (REF)
Book Review Index - Z1035.A1 B6 (REF)
Le Monde Index Analytique - AI21 .M6
New York Times Index - AI21 .N45 (REF)
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature - AI3 .P7
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature - AI3 .R4 (REF)
Social Sciences Index - AI3 .R482
The Times (London) Index - AI21 .T43
Virginia Gazette Index - AI21 .V5

Index of Verb Forms in Thucydides

Maps

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, 1867-1970 (Louisiana Maps Only) | ProQuest ** This link opens in a new window

Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers: Louisiana State Package | NewsBank ** This link opens in a new window
Access World News - Historical and Current | NewsBank ** This link opens in a new window

Writing Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Online ** This link opens in a new window

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

The Oxford Handbook of Oral History - D16.14 .O95 2011
To the Point: A Dictionary of Concise Writing (2014) - PE1464 .F57 2014
A Writer's Reference (2011) - PE1408 .H2778 2011