Resources for History Graduate

Archives & Special Collections

Center for Louisiana Studies Archival Holdings
- The Center for Louisiana Studies' archival holdings represent the collection and preservation activities of several generations of folklorists, ethnomusicologists, linguists, and other cultural resource management professionals. The archival holdings are accessible through a fully cataloged database, and listening copies are available upon request.
- The Image Archive holds over 7,000 digital images from the public domain, the four-decade long Small Towns Project, donated collections and Hurricane Katrina and Rita footage. For inquiries in the collection, contact Assistant Director for Research John Sharp. As most of the image collection is digital and available for reproduction, contact Linda Garber for specific image use requests.
Catholic Diocese of Lafayette
Lafayette Parish Archives
Lafayette Science Museum
St. Landry Parish Archives

HathiTrust Digital Library ** This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world

Images of Colonialism
Collection of visual record of early European contact with Asia and Africa
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services in the Library of Congress collection. Includes American History & Culture, Historical Newspapers, and more

Project Gutenberg ** This link opens in a new window
Provides access to free public domain ebooks. Downloadable in a variety of formats

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)
Visualizing Cultures
The VC mission is to use new technology and hitherto inaccessible visual materials to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world - or imagined it to be

CIA's China Collection
This collection of over 70 National Intelligence Estimates on China is the most extensive single selection of intelligence analyses the United States Government ever has released
East Asia Image Collections
Historical Photographs of China
International Dunhuang Project
"A ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programs"

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica
The collection of the Digital Library of Spain - available in English
British Museum
EuroDocs
Western European primary historical documents
Gallica, French National Library
A digital collection
Historical Directories of England and Wales
A digital collection of the trade directories of England and Wales. 1766-1919
Proceedings of the UK Parliament

Abstracta Iranica
A selective and critical bibliography for the Iranian-Aryan world, published an annual supplement to the journal Studia Iranica by the French Research Institute in Iran
Arab American Institute
Archnet
Online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, and scholars, with a special focus on the Islamic world
Bibliotheca Alexandrina
Contains extensive collections of documents and resources on Egyptian and Middle Eastern history
MENALIB: Middle East Virtual Library

Most colleges and universities have collections of primary documents that can be used for research, as do many museums and government entities.

ArchiveGrid
Allows you to search for archives and special collections in your state and surrounding areas.
Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
From the Society for American Archivists. Gives some tips on archival research.
Archives Wiki
Intended to be a clearinghouse of information about archival resources throughout the world. Sponsored by the:
American Historical Association