Resources for History Graduate
Dupré Library Special Collections
The Jefferson Caffery Reading Room is located on the 3rd floor of Dupré Library. Hours vary.
All collections are non-circulating. Most materials are housed in secure, non-browsing stacks and are retrieved for users upon request. Bring your University ID with you, you'll need it to check out most of the materials here. For archives and rare books, you'll be asked to fill out a new user form and item forms for each collection or book.
- Houses an abundance of primary and secondary source materials in varying formats such as monographs, serials, government documents, maps, microforms, pamphlets and ephemera and serves as a complete depository for publications of Louisiana state government agencies
- Ready Reference, Genealogy and Law collections are available on open shelves for browsing. A Genealogical Research: Guide a Selected Bibliography is available to introduce researchers to this collection and to the variety of materials available. A Bibliography of Legal Resources is available upon request
- Map collection contains over 25,000 state and local maps, both current and historical; Louisiana Map Collection guide is available upon request
- Include over 500 collections of personal or family papers, business, and organizational records, photograph collections and oral history recordings
- Subjects include agriculture, the oil industry, architecture, education, literature, local and regional history, politics and women's history
- The historical records of the University including photographs and memorabilia
- Finding Aid to collection available in the Jefferson Caffery Reading Room
- Contains items published before 1900 and items that have intrinsic value such as limited editions or copies inscribed by the author
- Strengths include horticulture, architecture, and French literature and history
- Consists of over 9,000 commercial recordings, selected unpublished or field recordings, books, periodicals, photographs, artifacts and other archival materials in a variety of formats including analog and digital media: 78 rpm, 45 rpm, and LP (33 1/3 rpm) records, 8-track tapes, audio-cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes and DVDs
- Honors the work of University of Louisiana at Lafayette’s Writer-in-Residence Emeritus and provides a space for scholars and students to work with the Gaines papers and manuscripts