UL Lafayette Special Collections

The Acadiana Manuscripts Collection contains over 700 collections of personal and family papers, business and organizational records, photograph collections, oral histories, and much more related to the Acadiana region and south and southwest Louisiana. While most of the manuscript collections relate to the Acadiana region of Louisiana, several have broader scopes that complement the region and culture.

These collections cover a wide variety of topics. Such topics include local and regional history, agriculture, the oil industry, architecture, education, literature, politics, and women's history.

This faction is divided up into two parts: manuscript collections (COLL) and miscellaneous manuscript collections (MSS). The manuscript collections are full collections that can range from a single box to well over a hundred. Miscellaneous manuscript collections usually only comprise of a few items that may only make up one to three folders. These smaller collections stand on their own and may not necessarily belong in any of the fuller manuscript collections.

Acadiana Manuscripts Collection Finding Aids are available on Dupré Library's website. To access, go to the Collections page, navigate to the side panel under University Archives & Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, and click Finding Aids.

Manuscripts Collections Finding Aids

Miscellaneous Manuscripts Collections Finding Aids

The Special Collections Department must be cited when materials are published and/or distributed. Any citation of archival material must contain the following elements:

Citation:

Author (if available). Title (if available). Date created (if available). Box number, Folder number. Unique identifier, collection name. Archives name, Library name, Institutional affiliation, Location. Date accessed.

Example:

Kaplan, Benjamin. "The Future of the Jewish Family." Box 4, Folder 2. Coll 78, Benjamin Kaplan Papers. University Archives and Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, Edith Garland Dupré Library, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA. 8 March 2017.