UL Lafayette Special Collections

This guide presents the different factions of the UL Lafayette Special Collections at Edith Garland Dupré Library.

Acadiana Manuscripts Collection

The Acadiana Manuscripts Collection contains over 700 collections of personal and family papers, business and organizational records, photograph collections, oral histories, and much more related to the Acadiana region and south and southwest Louisiana. While most of the manuscript collections relate to the Acadiana region of Louisiana, several have broader scopes that complement the region and culture.

These collections cover a wide variety of topics. Such topics include local and regional history, agriculture, the oil industry, architecture, education, literature, politics, and women's history.

This faction is divided up into two parts: manuscript collections (COLL) and miscellaneous manuscript collections (MSS). The manuscript collections are full collections that can range from a single box to well over a hundred. Miscellaneous manuscript collections usually only comprise of a few items that may only make up one to three folders. These smaller collections stand on their own and may not necessarily belong in any of the fuller manuscript collections.

An Acadiana Manuscripts Collection

Search Options

To browse the finding aids of the Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, first go to the side panel under University Archives & Manuscripts and click Acadiana Manuscripts Collection at the top.

Acadiana Manuscripts Collection

Once redirected, patrons can browse either by alphabetical order (by clicking one of the letters), or by numerical order (by clicking either Manuscripts or Miscellaneous Manuscripts). These options are also available on the sidebar.

Miscellaneous Manuscripts

Examples of Manuscript Collections

COLL 3 Watson Family Papers
COLL 8 Givens-Hopkins Families Papers
COLL 12 and 12A Joel L. Fletcher, Jr. Papers
COLL 33 Rice Millers' Association Records
COLL 43 Edith Garland Dupré Papers
COLL 45 Jefferson Caffery Papers
COLL 67 Petroleum Archives Collection
COLL 90 Barnett Studio Photographs [Freeland Collection]
COLL 161 J. Carlton James Oral History Collection
COLL 170 Lafayette (Louisiana) Rotary Club Records
COLL 206 Council for the Development of French in Louisiana (CODOFIL) Records
COLL 329 Colonial Louisiana Records Collection
COLL 338 Junior League of Lafayette Collection

The complete list of Manuscripts Collections finding aids are available on the Special Collections web page.

Examples of Miscellaneous Manuscript Collections

MSS 1 World War II Collection
MSS 10 States' Rights Party of Louisiana Platform
MSS 13 U.S. Department of Agriculture Reports
MSS 18 Bayou Teche Railway and Light Company Minutes
MSS 40 Willie Francis Collection
MSS 45 Hebert Family Genealogical Records
MSS 94 Bone-Lovell Families Papers
MSS 113 Lafayette (Louisiana) Chamber of Commerce Miscellaneous Records
MSS 251 Confederate Civil War Soldier Letter

The complete list of Miscellaneous Manuscripts Collections finding aids are available on the Special Collections web page.

Citations

The Special Collections Department must be cited when materials are published and/or distributed. Any citation of archival material must contain the following elements:

  • Citation:
    Author (if available). Title (if available). Date created (if available). Box number, Folder number. Unique identifier, collection name. Archives name, Library name, Institutional affiliation, Location. Date accessed.

  • Example:
    Kaplan, Benjamin. "The Future of the Jewish Family." Box 4, Folder 2. Coll 78, Benjamin Kaplan Papers. University Archives and Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, Edith Garland Dupré Library, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Lafayette, LA. 8 March 2017.