Resources for Mechanical Engineering
Looking for Research Articles?
To find articles on a current topic in engineering, check out one of these databases. Magazine and journal articles are usually published more quickly than books and other information, so they are most useful for finding recent information.
The Library's Reference Online Center (ROC Lab) has many other databases listed, from general to specific. Remember, these databases are for use only by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette students, faculty and staff. Use your ULID and password to access from off-campus.
- Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865. EbscoHost Mobile is now available for hand-held devices, with iPhone application for quick searches.
- Credo Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive engineering database indexing over 5000 journals, conferences, and reports, about half include abstracts; coverage from 1969, with weekly updates; subject coverage is strongest in chemical and process engineering (15%), computers and data processing (12%), electronics and communication (12%), applied physics (11%), civil engineering (6%),and mechanical engineering (6%).
- GreenFILE | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library ** [see Note] This link opens in a new windowGreat source! Full text of over three million sources! IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others. UL’s online subscription includes access to the abstracts and full text of materials published since 1988 and select content published since 1913.
- ThomasNet ** This link opens in a new windowSearch ThomasNet to find manufacturers, service providers and distributors. Over 67,000 product categories represented. Also provides 2D and 3D CAD drawings from major manufacturers, a forum and other resources.
- ScienceDirect ** This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text scientific journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
- Science & Technology Collection | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowThe Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
- Shock & Vibration Digest | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text records of topics related to shock and vibration, including noise, seismology, experimental mechanics and vibration technologies.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowFully indexes 8,500 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines; Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles; provides some abstracts and access to EndNote Web. Some retrospective data from 1900.
What is a Database?
View this helpful video, Article Databases in Five Minutes, created by NCSU libraries. It provides an overview of article databases and key features for searching article databases effectively.
Search EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
Search These Places
- Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage and indexing of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspaper articles for most academic disciplines.
- Coverage: 1990 – present, updated daily
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: General, Agriculture, Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Chemistry, Communication, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Engineering, English, Geography, GeoScience, Government & Law, History, Humanities, Journalism, Kinesiology, Library Science, Literature, Louisiana Studies, Math & Physics, Modern Languages, Music, News, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
- Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.