ENGL 350: YA Literature & Media

This guide supports research in Prof. Jessica Doble's online class

Reference Materials at Dupré Library

Dictionary of American Regional English: Volume I: A-C

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

Select cover to view details. A ULID login may be required to gain access to full-text, eBooks, or details.

Reference Materials Online

Credo Reference ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.

- Coverage: varies, updates vary
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Infobase
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference
eBooks | Gale ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for most academic disciplines.

- Coverage: most current edition, updated regularly
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Gale
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference
Literary Reference Plus | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Offers a selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics.

- Coverage: dates vary
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: English, Humanities, Literature, Mass Media, Reference
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary.

- Coverage: updated every three months.
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Oxford University Press
- Subjects: General, English, Literature, Mass Media, Reference
Oxford Reference ** [see Note] This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference sources for most academic disciplines. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps, and much more.
* Note: Only one (1) user is allowed to use this resource at a time due to the licensing agreement with the database provider. Try again later if you experience access issues.

- Coverage: updated monthly
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Vendor: Oxford University Press
- Subjects: General, Reference

Biographical Databases

Biography: In Context | Gale ** This link opens in a new window
Biographical information and full-text articles on the world's most influential people. Searchable by birth or death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, etc.

- Coverage: varies, updates varies
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Gale
- Subjects: General, eBooks, English, History, Journalism, Literature, Louisiana Studies
Twayne's Author Series: Literature | Gale ** This link opens in a new window
In-depth, full-text introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Features content from print series including U.S. Authors Series Classic, English Writers Series Classic, Masterwork Studies, Studies in Short Fiction, and more.

- Coverage: most current edition, updated regularly
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Gale
- Subjects: English, Humanities, Literature