ENGL 350: YA Literature & Media

This guide supports research in Prof. Jessica Doble's online class

Finding Books in Our Collection

Library of Congress call numbers for English, literature and related topics

To find books in Dupré Library, you'll need to become familiar with on what floors they are kept. Most books on English, literature and related topics are kept on the 2nd floor in the P section. View the floor plan for the location of other resources or look for maps or signs around the library. To find a call number in the library, locate the first letter of the call number and find out where those books are kept.

Dupré Library - Floor Plan

P1-1091 - Philology. Linguistics

PE1-3729 - English

PE101-458....Anglo-Saxon. Old English
PE501-693....Middle English
PE814-896....Early Modern English
PE1001-1693....Modern English
PE1700-3602....Dialects. Provincialisms, etc.
PE3701-3729....Slang. Argot, etc.

PN1-6790 - Literature (General)

PN1-9....Periodicals
PN20-30....Societies
PN45-57....Theory. Philosophy. Esthetics
PN59-72....Study and teaching
PN80-99....Criticism
PN101-245....Authorship
- PN172-239....Technique. Literary composition, etc.
- PN241-241.5....Translating as a literary pursuit
PN441-1009.5....Literary history
- PN451-497....Biography
- PN500-519....Collections
- PN597-605....Special relations, movements, and currents of literature
- PN610-779....By period
  - PN611-649....Ancient
  - PN661-694....Medieval
  - PN695-779....Modern
  - PN715-749....Renaissance (1500-1700)
- PN801-820....Romance literature
- PN821-840....Germanic literature
- PN841....Black literature (General)
- PN842....Jewish literature in various languages
- PN851-884....Comparative literature
- PN905-1008....Folk literature
  - PN980-995....Fables
- PN1008.2-1009.5....Juvenile literature
PN1010-1525....Poetry
- PN1031-1049....Theory, philosophy, relations, etc.
- PN1065-1085....Relations to, and treatment of, special subjects
- PN1110-1279....History and criticism
- PN1301-1333....Epic poetry
- PN1341-1347....Folk poetry
- PN1351-1389....Lyric poetry
PN1530....The monologue
PN1551....The dialogue
PN1560-1590....The performing arts. Show business
PN1600-3307....Drama
- PN1635-1650....Relation to, and treatment of, special subjects
- PN1660-1693....Technique of dramatic composition
- PN1720-1861....History
- PN1865-1988....Special types
- PN1990-1992.92....Broadcasting

PR1-9680 - English literature

PR1-56....Literary history and criticism
PR57-78....Criticism
PR111-116....Women authors
PR125-138.5....Relations to other literatures and countries
PR161-488....By period
- PR171-236....Anglo-Saxon
- PR251-369....Medieval. Middle English
- PR401-488....Modern
  - PR421-429....Elizabethan era (1550-1640)
  - PR431-439....17th century
  - PR441-449....18th century
  - PR451-469....19th century
  - PR471-479....20th century
  - PR481-488....21st century
PR500-614....Poetry
PR621-744....Drama
PR750-890....Prose
- PR821-890....Prose fiction. The novel
PR901-907.2....Oratory
PR908....Diaries
PR911-918....Letters
PR921-928....Essays
PR931-938....Wit and humor
PR951-981....Folk literature
PR1098-1369....Collections of English literature
- PR1110....Special classes of authors
- PR1119-1151....By period
- PR1170-1228....Poetry
- PR1241-1273....Drama
- PR1281-1309....Prose (General)
- PR1321-1329....Oratory
- PR1330....Diaries
- PR1341-1349....Letters
- PR1361-1369....Essays
PR1490-1799....Anglo-Saxon literature
PR1803-2165....Anglo-Norman period. Early English. Middle English
PR2199-3195....English renaissance (1500-1640)
PR3291-3785....17th and 18th centuries
PR3991-5990....19th century
PR6000-6049....1900-1960
PR6050-6076....1961-2000
PR6100-6126....2001-
PR8309-9680....English literature: Provincial, local, etc.

PS1-3576 - American literature

PS126-138....Biography, memoirs, letters, etc.
PS147-152....Women authors
PS163-173....Treatment of special subjects, classes
PS185-231....By period
- PS185-195....17th-18th centuries
- PS201-217....19th century
- PS221-228....20th century
- PS229-231....21st century
PS241-286....Special regions, states, etc.
- PS241-255....North
- PS261-267....South
- PS271-285....West and Central
PS301-326....Poetry
PS330-353....Drama
PS360-380....Prose
PS400-408.2....Oratory
PS409....Diaries
PS410-419....Letters
PS420-429....Essays
PS430-439....Wit and humor. Satire
PS451-478....Folk literature
PS490....Juvenile literature (General)
PS501-689....Collections of American literature
- PS530-536.3....By period
- PS537-574....By region
  - PS538-549....North
  - PS551-559....South
  - PS561-572....West and Central
- PS580-619....Poetry
  - PS593....By form
  - PS601-617....By period
- PS623-635....Drama
- PS642-659.5....Prose (General)
  - PS651-659.2....By period
- PS660-668.2 Oratory
  - PS666-668.2....By period
- PS669....Diaries
- PS670-678.2....Letters
- PS680-689....Essays
PS700-3576....Individual authors
- PS700-893....Colonial period (17th and 18th centuries)
- PS991-3390....19th century
- PS3500-3549....1900-1960
- PS3550-3576....1961-2000
- PS3600-3626....2001-

eBooks

Searching the Dupré Library Catalog will often bring up results listed as "Electronic Resources." These are typically eBooks, which students can check out for the same duration as print copies of books by downloading them. They can also be viewed in full-text without being checked out.

Dupré Library - Catalog Search
Search the Dupré Library Catalog to find print books, eBooks, periodical titles, and government documents.

There are several other places where you can find eBooks as well.

** indicates full-text availability

Biography: In Context | Gale ** This link opens in a new window
Biographical information and full-text articles on the world's most influential people. Searchable by birth or death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, etc.

- Coverage: varies, updates varies
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Gale
- Subjects: General, eBooks, English, History, Journalism, Literature, Louisiana Studies
eBook Collection | EBSCO ** [see Note] This link opens in a new window
EBSCO offers high-quality eBook titles and audiobooks from major academic publishers and University Presses worldwide.
* Note: EBSCO eBooks can be checked out for a maximum of twenty-one (21) days. How to: Desktop Computer | Mobile Device

- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS with funds provided by the Office of Distance Learning
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: General, Agriculture, Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Chemistry, Communication, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, eBooks, Education, Engineering, English, Geography, GeoScience, Government & Law, History, Humanities, Journalism, Kinesiology, Library Science, Literature, Louisiana Studies, Math & Physics, Modern Languages, Music, News, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
HathiTrust Digital Library ** This link opens in a new window
A partnership of academic and research institutions that provides full-text access to books, journals, and other digital resources viewable in PDF format.

- Coverage: varies by title, updated regularly
- Vendor: HathiTrust
- Subjects: General, eBooks, English, Government & Law, History, Humanities, Literature, Modern Languages
Library of Congress Digital Collections ** This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text, digitized print materials like newspapers and books, as well as photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, maps, and more.

- Vendor: Library of Congress
- Subjects: General, Art & Architecture, eBooks, History, News
Project Gutenberg ** This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to public domain full-text eBooks.

- Vendor: Project Gutenberg
- Subjects: General, eBooks, English