Resources for English

A collection of resources for English majors and researchers.

Reference Materials at Dupré Library

Dictionary of American Regional English: Volume I: A-C

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

Select cover to view details. A ULID login may be required to gain access to full-text, eBooks, or details.

Reference Materials Online

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Coverage: varies, updates vary
- Receive through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for most academic disciplines.
- Coverage: most current edition, updated regularly
- Received through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference
Literary Reference Plus (formerly Literary Reference Center Plus) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics.
- Coverage: dates vary - Received through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: Humanities, Literature, English, Reference, Mass Media
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full-text, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary.
- Coverage: updated every three months.
- Received through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: General, Literature, English, Reference, Mass Media
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference sources from Oxford University Press for most academic disciplines. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps, and much more.
- Coverage: updated monthly
- Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Note: Only one (1) user is allowed to use this resource at a time due to the licensing agreement with the database provider. Try again later if you experience access issues.
- Subjects: General, Reference

Biographical Databases

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
Twayne's Author Series (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.