- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for English
- Writing/Citation Help
Resources for English
- Getting Started
- Finding Articles
- Finding Books
- Reference Materials
- Writing/Citation Help
- Ernest J. Gaines Center This link opens in a new window
- Questions? Ask Us!
The Writing Center
The UL Lafayette Department of English provides writing assistance at its Writing Center located in the library on the 1st floor in Room 155, around the corner from the Reference Desk.
In-person tutoring services are offered during the Fall and Spring semesters to help students, faculty, and staff from all disciplines at any stage in the writing process. Resources for those writing in English as a second language are also available.
Visit the Writing Center for more information and hours.
Search Google Scholar
- Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Tips on Citation, Research, Style Tips & Finding Primary Sources
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Reference and User Services Association (RUSA)A helpful guide to finding - and evaluating - primary sources found on the web.
- The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Purdue's always useful online writing lab contains all the information on citations and style questions you will ever need.
- The Elements of Style (Dupré Library Catalog)Print book; this copy is in the Reference section and will always be available for use in Dupré Library
- The Elements of Style (Bartleby.com)1918 edition; does not include E.B. White's revisions or additions
- The Elements of Style (Internet Archive)1920 edition; does not include E.B. White's revisions or additions
Evaluating Online Resources
When evaluating online resources, there are five things to look for:
Why should you trust the person that gave you this information? Is it from a credible source?
Is the site up to date? Is the information in your article current with events and technology?
Design & Style
Is the site professionally designed, or does it look like a personal blog? (Note: sometimes the look of sites can be deceiving)
Is the information presented in a balanced, objective manner? Is the author trying to sway you in some way?
Can you find the information you need in the site easily? Does the site direct you to places to find more information?
U.S. Government Documents & Information
To search for U.S. government documents, go to these guides:
Federal Depository Library for U.S. Government Information
by Sandy Himel Last Updated Mar 28, 2023 29 views this year
Legislative Research: U.S. Government Information Resources
by Sandy Himel Last Updated Feb 10, 2023 1 views this year
U.S. and State Government Information
Sandy Himel | email@example.com | (337) 482-1174