- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for English
- Finding Articles
Resources for English
A collection of resources for English majors and researchers.
Though there are many databases where you can find English and literature articles, there are a few which are considered excellent starting points for research on those topics. All have access to at least some full-text articles.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe library’s subscription to JSTOR includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, and VII Collections. The Arts & Sciences Collections represent the building blocks of an multi-disciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, online access to humanities and social sciences journals. Dupré Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
** indicates full-text availability
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window** Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- Oxford African American Studies Center (AASC) This link opens in a new window** The AASC provides students and scholars with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies.
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window** This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Louisiana at Lafayette This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.
- Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window** This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at UL Lafayette. Some full text is included.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window** Provides access to an extensive collection of e-book titles online. (Uses free versions of Adobe Digital Editions. Due to privacy and security issues with Adobe Digital Editions 4.0, the library currently recommends Adobe Digital Editions 3.0.)
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window** HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions that provides access to millions of titles (books, journals, etc.) viewable in PDF format.
- Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window** A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes MasterPlots.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window** Full text access to Thomson Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC), and Literature Criticism 1400-1800 (LC).
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
- Twayne's Author Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window** Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full text titles.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the arts and humanities.
- WorldCat via FirstSearch (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowCataloging information for books and other materials from libraries around the world.
Ordering Articles Not Available at Dupré Library
Many online databases link to full-text articles, either directly or through the LinkSource service. If the article is not available full-text, LinkSource can search Dupré Library's holdings for a print copy of the article. LinkSource also facilitates an Interlibrary Loan ILLiad request when a Dupré Library copy is not available, which allows you to order the article via Interlibrary Loan. Look for the Link Source logo when using online databases.