Skip to Main Content

Edith Garland Dupré Library Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Research Projects

The annual Caffery Competition honors the most outstanding original student scholarly research projects using special collections materials from Dupré Library.

Rubric for Projects

University of Louisiana at Lafayette Logo

Edith Garland Dupré Library - Caffery Competition Rubric - Projects

Developing (1 pt.)
Competent (2 pts.)
Accomplished (3 pts.)
Distinguish Sources
Uses more secondary than primary resources & only 1 from Special Collections used minimally
Uses equal number of secondary and primary resources with 2-4 from Special Collections or cites a few collections frequently and some archive sources used in multiple ways
Uses a greater number of primary than secondary resources with 5+ from Special Collections and cites a few collections extensively and has a clear and purposeful intention for their use
Variety of Resources
Includes only one (1) resource type or resource that is irrelevant to topic focus of the project
Cite two (2) types of resources appropriate to the project as documented in bibliography and within the project to address the topic focus such as primary and secondary, scholarly and popular literature, data, books, articles, critical/performance editions, original compositions, arrangements, transcriptions, sound or video recordings, models, plans, computer models.
Uses a wide range of resource types (minimum of 3 types) as documented in the bibliography to address the topic focus such as primary and secondary, scholarly and popular literature, data, books, articles, critical/performance editions, original compositions, arrangements, transcriptions, sound or video recordings, models, plans, computer models.
Structure/Organization
Fails to stay within the organized structure, theme(s) occasionally fail to make sense together, reviewer is limited in identifying a line of reasoning to support the intent of the project
Adequately addresses the main focus but identified theme(s) are not unified or do not support the intent of the project
Establishes a strong organization for the project; project demonstrates and communicates stated theme(s) that unify to support the intent of the project
Content
Information supports a central theme(s) but
  • Analysis is vague or not evident or
  • Fails to demonstrate a central theme(s) identifiable to the reviewer
Presentation provides support for a central theme(s) and displays superficial analysis of Special Collection sources used.
Balanced presentation of relevant theme(s) that supports the intent of the project. Project demonstrates in-depth analysis of Special Collections sources used
Citations
Shows limited understanding of proper use of citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – 4+ errors
Shows adequate understanding of proper use of citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – no more than 2 -3 errors
Shows a strong understanding of the proper use of citations including complicated citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – 1 or less errors
Research Statement
No research statement submitted
Includes a research statement of 500 words or less. Missing one or more of the requirements outlined in Column Three.
Includes a research statement of 500-750 words; Discusses the main idea of the project, sources used from Special Collection, and the citation style used

Last Revised: Fall 2021