Edith Garland Dupré Library Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Papers

The annual Caffery Competition honors the most outstanding original student scholarly paper written using special collections materials from Dupré Library.

Call for Student Papers 2021

Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Papers Fyler

2021 Flyer to Share!

Annual Caffery Competition Call for Student Papers Flyer

2021 Competition

Deadline for Submission:
February 28, 2021

Winner will be announced: May 2021

Competition Information

Guidelines

This award is based on competitive review of original research papers submitted to Edith Garland Dupré Library.


Topic

No restrictions are placed on the topic or subject matter of submitted papers; however, all papers must cite or directly investigate primary source materials held in the Special Collections of Dupré Library (University Archives and Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, Louisiana Room, Rare Book Collection, Ernest J. Gaines Center, Cajun and Creole Music Collection, and U.S. Government Information).


Format

All papers must be typed in a standard non-script font no smaller than twelve characters per inch, double-spaced, unbound and adherent to the style manual recommended in the author's discipline. If possible, the pages should be numbered. Text of papers should be a minimum of 2500 words.


Abstract

All papers are to include an abstract of no more than 250 words. Please identify the style manual being followed.


General

All papers must be in English and must be in the work of a single author.


Procedure

The competition is open to both undergraduate and graduate students of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette® who are not full-time continuing faculty or staff. The students must be currently enrolled or have completed the submitted paper during the previous two academic semesters. The paper should not have been previously published on an open access platform. A judging panel consisting of the University Library Committee, Head of Special Collections, and referees designated by the panel will evaluate all submissions using the Caffery Award Rubric, louisiana.libguides.com/cafferyrubric. The winning candidate should meet the "exceeding expectations" elements of the rubric.


Submissions

Papes are to be submitted electronically with all contact information, including ULID, to librarydeanoffice@louisiana.edu no later than February 28, 2021. Winner will be announced in May 2021.


Contact

Edith Garland Dupré Library, Jefferson Caffery Reading Room, Third Floor, 400 E St Mary Blvd, Lafayette, LA 70503, 337.482.6031, speccoll@louisiana.edu

Special Collections Department of Dupré Library

The Special Collections Department of Dupré Library contains materials of relevance and scholarly interest to students from all academic departments of the University. Students interested in submitting a paper to the Competition should visit the Jefferson Caffery Reading Room on the 3rd Floor of Dupré Library to review the catalog of library holdings in these areas. The staff in the Special Collections Department are available for consultation. Interested students may call (337) 482-6031.