Skip to Main Content

Edith Garland Dupré Library Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Research Projects

The annual Caffery Competition honors the most outstanding original student scholarly research projects using special collections materials from Dupré Library.

Rubric for Papers

University of Louisiana at Lafayette Logo

Edith Garland Dupré Library - Caffery Competition Rubric - Papers

Developing (1 pt.)
Competent (2 pts.)
Accomplished (3 pts.)
Distinguish Sources
Uses more secondary than primary resources & only 1 from Special Collections used minimally
Uses equal number of secondary and primary resources with 2-4 from Special Collections or cites a few collections frequently and some archive sources used in multiple ways
Uses a greater number of primary than secondary resources with 5+ from Special Collections and cites a few collections extensively and has a clear and purposeful intention for their use
Variety of Resources
Includes only one (1) resource type or resource that is irrelevant to topic focus of the paper
Cite two (2) types of resources appropriate to the project as documented in bibliography and within the paper to address the topic focus such as primary and secondary, scholarly and popular literature, data, books, articles, critical/performance editions, original compositions, arrangements, transcriptions, sound or video recordings, models, plans, computer models.
Uses a wide range of resource types (minimum of 3 types) as documented in bibliography and within the paper to address the topic focus such as primary and secondary, scholarly and popular literature, data, books, articles, critical/performance editions, original compositions, arrangements, transcriptions, sound or video recordings, models, plans, computer models.
Structure/Organization
Fails to stay within the organized structure, ideas occasionally fail to make sense together, reader is limited in identifying a line of reasoning and loses interest
Adequately addresses the main focus of the paper but does not explore mini theses to support the main argument.
Establishes a strong organization for the paper, including sub-sections or mini theses relating to the major thesis providing strength to the argument
Content
Information supports a central purpose but analysis is vague or not evident or fails to identify a central purpose or thesis identifiable to the reader
Information provides support for a central purpose or argument and displays evidence of a basic analysis of a significant topic
Balanced presentation of relevant and legitimate information that supports a central purpose or argument and shows in-depth (mini theses and variety of sources) analysis of a significant topic.
Communication
Contains greater than eight (8) errors in spelling, sentence structure, grammar, paragraphing
Contains clear paragraphs, topic sentences and transitions are effective, four – eight (4-8) spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors that do not interfere with the intent of the paper
Contains clear paragraphs, effective use of sentence structure, fewer than three (3) spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors, which support the intent of the paper and includes strong topic sentences and transitions throughout the paper
Citations
Shows limited understanding of proper use of citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – 4+ errors
Shows adequate understanding of proper use of citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – no more than 2 -3 errors
Shows a strong understanding of the proper use of citations including complicated citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – 1 or less errors
Abstract
No abstract submitted
Includes an abstract of 250 words or less. Missing one or more of the requirements outlined in Column Three.
Includes an abstract of 250 words or less; Discusses the main idea of the paper, sources used from Special Collection, and the citation style used

Last Revised: Fall 2021