For the safety of our UL Lafayette community, Dupré Library remains CLOSED. Access to online resources, virtual research assistance and curbside delivery services are available. See our COVID-19 Library FAQ for current services. Dupré Library will REOPEN for the Fall semester on August 17, 2020. See our Fall 2020 Services.

UL Lafayette Special Collections

This guide presents the different factions of the UL Lafayette Special Collections at Edith Garland Dupré Library.

Special Collections

The Louisiana Room

The Special Collections Department of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette University Libraries brings together a wide variety of materials representing the south and southwest Louisiana experience. Special Collections supports research for undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and other scholars whose work relies on archival records, rare books, manuscripts, media, digital files, and other primary and secondary sources.

The central mission of Special Collections falls in line with the mission of the University Libraries, which as an integral part of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, is to support fully the instructional and research programs of the University by providing access to information through the teaching, acquisition, organization, and preservation of information resources in all formats to the University's academic community, the region, and the state.

This guide will briefly describe the different parts of Special Collections, including the University Archives, Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, and the Louisiana Room. There is also a page dedicated to affiliates of the Special Collections.

Location

Special Collections is located on the 3rd Floor of Edith Garland Dupré Library.

Faculty and Staff

Zachary Stein
Assistant Professor
Head of Special Collections
(337) 482-6427
Room 320
zachary.stein@louisiana.edu

Neil Guilbeau
Instructor
Reference Archivist
(337) 482-1164
Room 315
neil.guilbeau@louisiana.edu

Scott Jordan
Instructor
Digitization Archivist
(337) 482-5702
Room 308
scott.jordan@louisiana.edu

Jane Vidrine
Archives Processing/Microfilm Specialist
(337) 482-1127
Room 317
jane.vidrine@louisiana.edu

Regular Working Hours

Fall and Spring Semester

Monday and Tuesday 7:30 am - 7:00 pm
Wednesday and Thursday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 12:30 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Sunday Closed

Summer Semester and Intersessions

Monday through Thursday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 12:30 pm
Saturday and Sunday Closed