Collections for Ray P. Authement College of Sciences

COLL 1-B 05 k – University Archives: School of Geosciences

COLL 1-B 08 e – University Archives: Geology

COLL 112 – Louisiana Intracoastal Seaway Association Records

The Louisiana Intracoastal Seaway Association (LISA), a private nonprofit organization, was created in 1958 to manage and develop Louisiana's coastal water resources. It was considered a public relations arm of the Louisiana Coastal Commission (LCC), a state-regulated agency created in 1964. LISA performed promotional and publicity functions, such as lobbying, which the LCC was restricted from doing. LCC had the authority to coordinate planning efforts in the areas of water quality, flood control, navigation, conservation of fish and wildlife resources, and environmental enhancement. This collection contains records of LISA and LCC. Material from LISA includes correspondence, Board of Directors meetings minutes, annual meeting material, speeches, scrapbooks, pamphlets, and miscellaneous items. Material from LCC include correspondence, commission meeting minutes and minute books, committees' reports, publicity and publications, legal material, and miscellaneous information. This collection is arranged chronologically. LISA donated the records for Special Collections to be its designated repository.

COLL 382 – Vernon E. Behrhorst Papers

Vernon Behrhorst, a geographer, was very active in the development of Louisiana water resources. In addition to being an Assistant Professor of Geography at University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), he was also a leader in many water resource associations. These associations include the Louisiana Intracoastal Seaway Association (LISA), the Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association (GICA), the governor's Office of Water Policy in Louisiana, and theNational Ports and Waterways Institute at Louisiana State University. This collection contains Behrhorst’s papers related to the organizations, associations, and conferences for which he was involved. These papers include project proposals, correspondence, reports, memorandums, and materials from conferences. There are also photographs and audiovisual materials on reels and VHS. These papers were transferred from Tulane University’s Louisiana Research Collection to Dupré Library’s University Archives and Acadiana Manuscripts Collection by Leon Miller in 2016.

COLL 383 – National Waterways Council Collection

COLL 384 – Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association Collection

COLL 385 – Water Resources Congress Collection

COLL 386 – Mississippi Valley Association Collection

COLL 453 – Corps of Engineers Aerial Photographs

Corps of Engineers Aerial Photographs were made primarily to update water/land boundaries and related data on quadrangle charts. These photographs were taken from 1958 to 1964. They come from several repositories from the state, including the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), Louisiana State University, New Orleans Public Library, Northwestern State University, Louisiana State Library, and Louisiana State University - Shreveport. This collection is arranged alphabetically by city/town. There is also a map index.

COLL 493 – Louisiana Conservation Commission Hearings Geological Data

This collection consists of one volume of the Louisiana Conservation Commission Hearings; Geological Data dated 1938 – November 1956. This includes an index.