Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals worldwide to diagnose mental disorders. In addition to the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the DSM-5 Library also includes DSM-5 Clinical Cases and DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis. (online)
by Gary Groth-Marnat
Publication Date: 2003-03-06
From Previous Editions: "A commendable volume in which the author condenses information, normally in several locations, into one reading . . . an excellent text for graduate courses on psychological assessment. It . . . familiarizes the student with the entire enterprise of clinical assessment and provides enough of a how-to guide for the student to carry out an assessment practicum." --Contemporary Psychology "For both practitioners and students of psychological assessment, the expanded and updated Handbook provides guidance to the selection, administration, evaluation, and interpretation of the most commonly used psychological tests." --Reference and Research Book News The updated and expanded fourth edition of the highly acclaimed classic text on psychological assessment The Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Fourth Edition presents a step-by-step guide on how to conduct a comprehensive psychological evaluation. It provides a complete review of the most commonly used assessment instruments and the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, evaluating data, and integrating results into a coherent, problem-solving report. Updated reviews and interpretive guidelines are included for the most frequently used assessment techniques, including structured and unstructured interviews, Wechlser intelligence scales (WAIS-III/WISC-III), Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI-2/MMPI-A), Millon Multiaxial Clinical Inventory-III, California Psychological Inventory, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and frequently used instruments for neuropsychological screening (e.g., Bender Gestalt and Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test). Each test is reviewed according to its history and development, psychometrics, administration, and interpretation of results. In addition, this revised and expanded Fourth Edition includes: * Completely updated research on all assessment techniques * A chapter on the Wechsler Memory Scales (WMS-III) * A new chapter on brief instruments for treatment planning, patient monitoring, and outcome assessment (Beck Depression Inventory-II, State Trait Anxiety Inventory, and Symptom Checklist-90-R) Organized according to the sequence psychologists follow when conducting an assessment, the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Fourth Edition is a practical, valuable reference for clinical psychologists, therapists, school psychologists, and counselors.
by Rocio Fernandez-Ballesteros (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
′once you let a clinical psychologist lay hands on this book, it is quite difficult to get it back again′ - Martin Guha, Librarian, Institute of Psychiatry, London The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessmentis a landmark reference work and constitutes a definitive resource for academics, practitioners and students working in any field of applied psychological science. Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessmentcontain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in theEncyclopediaand a list of references. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessmentprovides: - A comprehensive network for psychological assessment as a conceptual and methodological discipline, and as a professional activity - An overview of the complexity of assessment, which involves not only testing, but also a process of decision-making for answering relevant questions that arise in the different applied fields - A presentation of relevant issues from basic theory (theoretical perspectives, ethics) and methodology (validity, reliability, item response theory) to technology and modes of assessment (tests, instruments and equipment for measuring behavioral operations) - An attempt to unify this diverse field by offering full coverage of all areas from the most traditional, such as clinical, educational and work and organizational psychology, to the most recent applications linked to health, gerontology, neuropsychology, psychophysiology and environmental assessment. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessmentoffers a truly international perspective, both in terms of the selected authors and chosen entries. It aims to provide an integrated view of assessment, bringing together knowledge dispersed throughout several methodological and applied fields, but united in terms of its relevance for assessment. It is an essential purchase for any library with an existing collection or concern with the field of psychological science in general.
by Ian Stuart-Hamilton
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
`A useful book for the specialist engaged in assessment and research'. - Journal of Analytical Psychology `This book is a must-have for the bookshelf if you are a student or practitioner in the fields of psychology or even sociology. It will be of equal value to anyone working in the fields of brain injury, mental health or related fields. It is a handbook of references, terms and abbreviations related to neuroanatomy, psychology, medicine and their experiments and therapies, as well as dipping in and out of statistical processes and their meanings. The book will have broad appeal from student to practitioner to doctor. This book is a new and improved second edition. I only wish I had known of the existence of the first edition as it will most certainly prove a valuable tool.' - The Encephalitis Society The fully revised and updated second edition of this well-established reference provides over 400 new or improved terms, and is an exhaustive guide to the key terms used in psychological testing, assessment and measurement. Over 3000 definitions offer clear explanations of statistical procedures commonly used in psychology; major psychometric and other psychological tests; categories of mental illness, mental disability, and brain damage; frequently used medical terms; basic neuroanatomy; and types of psychological therapies. This book is suitable for all levels of understanding, from undergraduate and postgraduate students to practitioners of psychology and associated fields, with particular attention to statistical terms used in typical university syllabuses, as well as tests commonly available in computer packages and cited in psychological journals and similar publications.
by Israel Cuellar (Editor); Freddy A. Paniagua (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-03-16
Clinicians and mental health practitioners are regularly called upon to treat patients of diverse cultural and ethnic backgrounds. Not only do these patients differ from Anglos in culture and language, but also in customs, beliefs, values, and practices. Understanding these differences is vital to performing an accurate diagnosis/assessment of psychopathology as well as in determining an effective treatment regimen. This book provides vital information to clinicians worldwide in bettering their treatment of diverse populations. Each chapter identifies relevant cultural variables specific to each racial/ethnic group, along with ethnocultural measures and their relevant psychometric properties. Part 1 presents introductory material on the definition of mental illness and pathological behavior in differing cultures, epidemiological data on the prevalence of different disorders between differing population groups, culture specific beliefs (e.g. hexes), and the influence of culture on treatment. Part 2 discusses assessment issues including how specific measures (Rorschach, MMPI, etc.) are best interpreted with different population groups, and the existence and use of ethnocultural specific measures. Part 3 discusses assessment and treatment of specific population groups (e.g., Indians, Asians, Latinos, etc.).
by Michel Hersen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-11-17
Given the vast amount of research related to behavioral assessment, it is difficult for clinicians to keep abreast of new developments. In recent years, there have been advances in assessment, case conceptualization, treatment planning, treatment strategies for specific disorders, and considerations of new ethical and legal issues. Keeping track of advances requires monitoring diverse resources limited to specific disorders, many of which are theoretical rather than practical, or that offer clinical advice without providing the evidence base for treatment recommendations. This handbook was created to fill this gap, summarizing critical information for adult behavioral assessment. The Clinician's Handbook of Adult Behavioral Assessment provides a single source for understanding new developments in this field, cutting across strategies, techniques, and disorders. Assessment strategies are presented in context with the research behind those strategies, along with discussions of clinical utility, and how assessment and conceptualization fit in with treatment planning. The volume is organized in three sections, beginning with general issues, followed by evaluations of specific disorders and problems, and closing with special issues. To ensure cross chapter consistency in the coverage of disorders, these chapters are formatted to contain an introduction, assessment strategies, research basis, clinical utility, conceptualization and treatment planning, a case study, and summary. Special issue coverage includes computerized assessment, evaluating older adults, behavioral neuropsychology, ethical-legal issues, work-related issues, and value change in adults with acquired disabilities. Suitable for beginning and established clinicians in practice, this handbook will provide a ready reference toward effective adult behavioral assessment.
by Michel Hersen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-11-21
Given the vast amount of research related to behavioral assessment, it is difficult for clinicians to keep abreast of new developments. In recent years, there have been advances in assessment, case conceptualization, treatment planning, treatment strategies for specific disorders, and considerations of new ethical and legal issues. Keeping track of advances requires monitoring diverse resources limited to specific disorders, many of which give short shrift to child assessment, overlooking developmental considerations. Much of the existing literature is either theoretical/research in focus or clinical in nature. Nowhere are the various aspects of child behavioral assessment placed in a comprehensive research/clinical context, nor is there much integration as to conceptualization and treatment planning. The Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment was created to fill this gap, summarizing critical information for child behavioral assessment in a single source. The Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment provides a single source for understanding new developments in this field, cutting across strategies, techniques, and disorders. Assessment strategies are presented in context with the research behind those strategies, along with discussions of clinical utility, and how assessment and conceptualization fit in with treatment planning. The volume is organized in three sections, beginning with general issues, followed by evaluations of specific disorders and problems, and closing with special issues. To ensure cross chapter consistency in the coverage of disorders, these chapters are formatted to contain an introduction, assessment strategies, research basis, clinical utility, conceptualization and treatment planning, a case study, and summary. Special issue coverage includes child abuse assessment, classroom assessment, behavioral neuropsychology, academic skills problems, and ethical-legal issues. Suitable for beginning and established clinicians in practice, this handbook will provide a ready reference toward effective child behavioral assessment.
by Carol S. Lidz
Publication Date: 2002-12-02
A new guide to conducting more comprehensive and meaningful psychological assessments of young children Early Childhood Assessment presents a thorough, step-by-step approach to the comprehensive psychological assessment of young children. In addition to covering major psychological tests, this invaluable resource includes specific guidelines and formats for interviewing parents and other caregivers, observing children and caregiver-child interaction, conducting dynamic assessments, writing reports, and evaluating outcomes of recommended interventions. Dr. Lidz′s approach encourages a broad range of observation with an overarching objective of completing a picture of the "whole" child, from family life to social-emotional and neuropsychological functioning. She leads the reader through each step of a comprehensive assessment, touching on the major data sources necessary for a full understanding of the child within different environments. Throughout the book, Dr. Lidz advocates best assessment practices that reflect the interests of children and families. Features useful information on: ∗ Conducting initial interviews and observations for setting the course of the assessment ∗ Using standardized and non-standardized approaches to generate both qualitative and quantitative data ∗ Viewing children and families within their cultural contexts ∗ Integrating assessment data sources to generate meaningful recommendations and readable reports Plus: ∗ Includes unique chapters on play, observation of parent-child and teacher-child interactions, and dynamic assessment Early Childhood Assessment is a valuable tool for professionals and students who are concerned about the richness and complexity of children′s development within their families and communities.
by Theresa J. B. Kline
Publication Date: 2005-02-15
Psychological Testing offers a fresh and innovative approach to students and faculty in the fields of testing, measurement, psychometrics, research design and related areas of study. Author Theresa Kline guides readers through the process of designing and evaluating a test, paying careful attention to ensure that the test meets the highest professional standards. The author uses simple, clear examples throughout and fully details the required statistical analyses. Topics include--but are not limited to--design of item stems and responses; sampling strategies; classical and modern test theory; IRT program examples; reliability of tests and raters; validation using content, criterion-related, and factor analytic approaches; test and item bias; and professional and ethical issues in testing.