POLS 414: Congress and The Presidency
Resources for Dr. Christie Maloyed's classes about the US Congress and the Office of the President of the United States
Search These Places
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis collection may be accessed directly from any computer at UL and may be accessed off-campus. Just be sure to sign in with your CLID so that you may be recognized as a UL Lafayette user.
Each book is listed in the library's catalog. Click on the URL and a new window will take you to that title. All eBooks are in Adobe Digital Editions or PDF format. The entire UL collection may also be searched at the library's main website.
Need help checking out or downloading an eBook? See our Ebooks guide for help!
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference sources from Oxford University Press for most academic disciplines. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps, and much more.
- Coverage: updated monthly
- Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Note: Only one (1) user is allowed to use this resource at a time due to the licensing agreement with the database provider. Try again later if you experience access issues.
- Subjects: General, Reference
- Google BooksSearches the full-text of books and magazines.
- Books in the public domain are available in full-text online and can be downloaded for free.
- Books under copyright still appear in search results with snippets or a preview available.
- Books out of copyright generally have the entire contents available.
After locating book, use the "Find in a library" link to find a local library that owns the title.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA partnership of academic and research institutions that provides full-text access to books, journals, and other digital resources viewable in PDF format.
- Coverage: varies by title, updated regularly
- Website not maintained by Library
- Subjects: General, History, Humanities, Literature, English, eBooks, Government & Law, Modern Languages
eBook Collections
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text eBook collection covering most academic disciplines.
- Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS with funds provided by the Office of Distance Learning
- Note: EBSCO eBooks can be checked out for a maximum of 21 days. Download the free versions of Adobe Digital Editions for desktop use and Bluefire Reader or any other app supported by Adobe Digital Editions for mobile use.
- Subjects: General, eBooks
Open Access eBook Libraries
- Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new windowProvides free access to public domain full-text eBooks.
- Website not maintained by Library
- Subjects: General, English, eBooks - Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text, digitized print materials like newspapers and books, as well as photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, maps, and more.
- Website not maintained by Library
- Subjects: General, News, History, Art & Architecture, eBooks - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA partnership of academic and research institutions that provides full-text access to books, journals, and other digital resources viewable in PDF format.
- Coverage: varies by title, updated regularly
- Website not maintained by Library
- Subjects: General, History, Humanities, Literature, English, eBooks, Government & Law, Modern Languages
Provides free access to books, periodicals, primary source documents, video, audio and archived web pages
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Library
Provides access to digitized books, manuscripts and other special collections materials from the Smithsonian Institute's extensive collections
POLS Books on the Shelves
Dupré Library uses the Library of Congress call number scheme to organize books on the shelves. Here is the section for Political Science. See a more detailed view by call number (PDF).
- J General legislative and executive papers
- JA Political science (General)
- JC Political theory
- JF Political institutions and public administration
- JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
- JK Political institutions and public administration (United States) Congress—JK1012 - 1432
- JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin American, etc.)
- JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
- JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
- JS Local government. Municipal government
- JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
- JZ International relations
If you'd like to browse the shelves, books with a J call number are located on the 1st floor of the library.