- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for History
- Finding Primary Sources
Resources for History
This guide will provide students doing research in history with a platform for finding primary and secondary sources for their papers.
Searching History in the Dupré Library Catalog
History books are classified in the C, D, E and F sections in the Library of Congress, all of which are contained on the 3rd floor of Dupré Library.
Library of Congress Classification for History
C - Auxiliary sciences of history
- Subclass CB....History of Civilization
- Subclass CC....Archeology
- Subclass CD....Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
- Subclass CE....Technical Chronology. Calendar
- Subclass CJ....Numismatics
- Subclass CN....Inscriptions. Epigraphy
- Subclass CR....Heraldry
- Subclass CS....Genealogy
- Subclass CT....Biography
D - World history (except American history)
- Subclass D....History (General)
- Subclass DA....Great Britain
- Subclass DAW....Central Europe
- Subclass DB....Austria – Liechtenstein – Hungary – Czechoslovakia
- Subclass DC....France – Andorra – Monaco
- Subclass DD....Germany
- Subclass DE....Greco-Roman World
- Subclass DF....Greece
- Subclass DG....Italy – Malta
- Subclass DH....Low Countries – Benelux Countries
- Subclass DJ....Netherlands (Holland)
- Subclass DJK....Eastern Europe (General)
- Subclass DK....Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics – Poland
- Subclass DL....Northern Europe.Scandinavia
- Subclass DP....Spain – Portugal
- Subclass DQ....Switzerland
- Subclass DR....Balkan Peninsula
- Subclass DS....Asia
- Subclass DT....Africa
- Subclass DU....Oceania (South Seas)
- Subclass DX....Gypsies
E - American history
F - Local history of the United States and British, Dutch, French and Latin America
Digital Libraries, Archives & Special Collections
Several collections or archives are available in Lafayette, both at Dupré Library and elsewhere
Dupré Library
Other local or University collections
In addition, there are several archives and research collections in the state of Louisiana and eastern Texas. They include:
- Loyola University Special Collection and Archives
Collections on World History
The Americas
- Early Americas Digital ArchiveA collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820
Africa
- AfricaFocus: Sights and Sounds of a ContinentA collection curated by the University of Wisconsin of primary and secondary sources
Asia
- CIA's China CollectionThis collection of over 70 National Intelligence Estimates on China is the most extensive single selection of intelligence analyses the United States Government ever has released
- International Dunhuang Project"A ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programs"
Europe
- Biblioteca Digital HispanicaThe collection of the Digital Library of Spain - available in English
- EuroDocsWestern European primary historical documents
- Historical Directories of England and WalesA digital collection of the trade directories of England and Wales. 1766-1919
The Middle East
- Abstracta IranicaA selective and critical bibliography for the Iranian-Aryan world, published an annual supplement to the journal Studia Iranica by the French Research Institute in Iran
- ArchnetOnline community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, and scholars, with a special focus on the Islamic world
- Bibliotheca AlexandrinaContains extensive collections of documents and resources on Egyptian and Middle Eastern history
Miscellaneous
- HathiTrust Digital Library ** This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
- Images of ColonialismCollection of visual record of early European contact with Asia and Africa
- Library of Congress Digital Collections ** This link opens in a new windowAccess to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services in the Library of Congress collection. Includes American History & Culture, Historical Newspapers, and more
- Project Gutenberg ** This link opens in a new windowProvides access to free public domain ebooks. Downloadable in a variety of formats
- Visualizing CulturesThe VC mission is to use new technology and hitherto inaccessible visual materials to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world - or imagined it to be
Presidential Libraries
The presidential libraries have a number of useful resources, including digitized copies of primary documents.
Historical Newspapers
Electronic Newspaper Databases
- America's Historical Newspapers: Louisiana State Package | NewsBank ** This link opens in a new windowLouisiana newspapers and coverage
Local Electronic Newspaper
- Daily Advertiser, The (Lafayette, LA Newspaper) | ProQuest ** This link opens in a new window(2002-present)
Newspapers on Microfilm
- Louisiana NewspapersLocated in the Louisiana Room on the 3rd Floor of Dupré Library
- Microforms DepartmentLocated on the 1st floor of Dupré Library, behind the Reference Computer Lab. For more information or help with the collection, call (337) 482-1191.
- Daily Advertiser (1869-present) Much of this microfilm is damaged
- The Lafayette Gazette (1893-1908, Louisiana Room)
- New York Times (1851-present)
- Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)
- Times of London (1785-present)
- Times Picayune (1837-present)
- American Periodical Series (18th Century to Reconstruction)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1872)
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1953)
- Miscellaneous slavery source materials, newspapers and narratives
- Massachusetts newspapers (1767-1775)
- LSU Library Special CollectionsHas Daily Advertiser (1869-present) microfilm