Resources for General Engineering
This guide introduces engineering students to the Library and Internet resources available to them at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. It is specifically designed for students in the UL Lafayette College of Engineering.
Find Books & Other Resources in This List of Print & Online Titles
Select cover to view details. A ULID login may be required to gain access to full-text, eBooks, or details.
Credo Reference
- Credo Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Coverage: varies, updates vary
- Receive through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference
Titles from the collection include:
Oxford Reference Online
- Oxford Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference sources from Oxford University Press for most academic disciplines. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps, and much more.
- Coverage: updated monthly
- Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Note: Only one (1) user is allowed to use this resource at a time due to the licensing agreement with the database provider. Try again later if you experience access issues.
- Subjects: General, Reference
Titles from the collection include:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale eBooks ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for most academic disciplines.
- Coverage: most current edition, updated regularly
- Received through LOUIS membership
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference
Titles from the collection include:
Search These Places
Search the Dupré Library Catalog to find print books, eBooks, periodical titles, and government documents.
- eBook Collection ** This link opens in a new windowThis collection may be accessed directly from any computer at UL and may be accessed off-campus. Just be sure to sign in with your CLID so that you may be recognized as a UL Lafayette user.
Each book is listed in the library's catalog. Click on the URL and a new window will take you to that title. All eBooks are in Adobe Digital Editions or PDF format. The entire UL collection may also be searched at the library's main website.
Need help checking out or downloading an eBook? See our Ebooks guide for help!
- Credo Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Oxford Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference sources from Oxford University Press for most academic disciplines. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps, and much more.
- Coverage: updated monthly
- Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Note: Only one (1) user is allowed to use this resource at a time due to the licensing agreement with the database provider. Try again later if you experience access issues.
- Subjects: General, Reference
- Google BooksSearches the full-text of books and magazines.
- Books in the public domain are available in full-text online and can be downloaded for free.
- Books under copyright still appear in search results with snippets or a preview available.
- Books out of copyright generally have the entire contents available.
After locating book, use the "Find in a library" link to find a local library that owns the title.