- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for General Engineering
- Internet & Other Resources
Resources for General Engineering
This guide introduces engineering students to the Library and Internet resources available to them at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. It is specifically designed for students in the UL Lafayette College of Engineering.
- Getting Started
- Find Articles
- Find Books
- Full Text Online Journals
- Internet & Other Resources
- Questions? Ask Us!
Links to Engineering Guides
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Selected Web Resources for Engineering
- Archive of JOVE: Journal of Visualized ExperimentsArticles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.
- Eng-Tips ForumsPopular website for engineering professionals to exchange ideas and assistance. Online forums include specific disciplines from aeronautics engineering to structural engineering; other forums include hot topics, careers and even a section on proper language usage. Check out their Linked-In group, Networking for Eng-Tips.com Forums Members
- Engineering.comExcellent online source for engineers of all disciplines. Extensive directory, educator's resources, free tools, forum, career center, directories, and even textbook rentals.
- EngNet Engineering NetworkPowerful directory-search engine-buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry.
- engrXiv Preprints : The open archive of engineeringengrXiv (engineering archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, and in partnership with the Center for Open Science.
- GlobalSpecA leading specialized vertical search, information services and electronic publishing company serving the engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market segments. Newsletters, product listings, broad range of proprietary and aggregated Web-based content.
- Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
- What to look for?The questions on this page should help you explain why a particular source is a good fit for your research project. Authored by UC Berkeley.
Search Google Scholar
- Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.