- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- eBooks
- Open Access eBook Libraries
eBooks
This guide helps you locate and access eBooks at Dupré Library and in other online libraries.
Questions?
Call: (337) 482-6025
Email: reference@louisiana.edu
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Contact
Jennifer Hamilton
Contact:
Head of Instruction / Asst. Professor
Room 153 (behind the mural in Reference)
Room 153 (behind the mural in Reference)
(337) 482-1160
Website
Search These Places
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA partnership of academic and research institutions that provides full-text access to books, journals, and other digital resources viewable in PDF format.
- Coverage: varies by title, updated regularly
- Website not maintained by Library
- Subjects: General, History, Humanities, Literature, English, eBooks, Government & Law, Modern Languages
- Google BooksSearches the full-text of books and magazines.
- Books in the public domain are available in full-text online and can be downloaded for free.
- Books under copyright still appear in search results with snippets or a preview available.
- Books out of copyright generally have the entire contents available.
After locating book, use the "Find in a library" link to find a local library that owns the title.
Additional Libraries
- Internet Archive- Provides free access to books, periodicals, primary source documents, video, audio and archived web pages
- Public domain materials are available in full text and downloadable in a variety of formats, including PDF, EPUB, and MOBI
- Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window- Provides free access to over 40,000 public domain ebooks
- Downloadable in a variety of formats, including EPUB and MOBI
- Open Library- Provides access to over 3,000,000 free eBooks, available in a variety of formats
- Digital Public Library of America- Provides access to millions of digitized objects from libraries, archives and museums around the United States
- Materials include books, photographs, moving images, sound recordings and more
- Some materials are available for download
- Browsable and searchable by map, timeline, format or topic
- Europeana- Multilingual online collection of over 30 million digitized items from European libraries, archives, museums and audiovisual collections
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window- Provides access to digitized print materials like newspapers and books, as well as photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, maps, born digital materials and more
- Many materials are rare and unavailable elsewhere
- A Virtual Reference Shelf and Ask a Librarian services are available to assist with research
- Smithsonian Libraries Digital Library- Provides access to digitized books, manuscripts and other special collections materials from the Smithsonian Institute's extensive collections
- Searchable and browsable by subject