Resources for Distance Learners
Questions?
Call: (337) 482-6025
Email: reference@louisiana.edu
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Contact Me!
Full Text Finder Workaround
See how to get access with a step-by-step demo on our full-text finder workaround.
Looking for Research Articles?
Need help searching the databases? Database Tutorials.
- Dupré Library - DatabasesFind a complete list of the library's databases
- Search Everything at Dupré LibrarySearch nearly all of the library's database and catalog simultaneously.
- Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865. EbscoHost Mobile is now available for hand-held devices, with iPhone application for quick searches.
- Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.
- JSTOR ** This link opens in a new windowThe library’s subscription to JSTOR includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, and VII Collections. The Arts & Sciences Collections represent the building blocks of a multi-disciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Nexis Uni ** This link opens in a new windowLexisNexis Academic offers access to full-text news, business, and legal publications from over 10,000 sources. The database is searchable by legal case, public figure, company, news topic, and publication. News coverage dates range from 1980 to the present.
- Project Muse ** This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE provides access to humanities and social sciences journals and books. Search for content in fields such as ethnic studies, performing arts, music, philosophy, religion, and more. Provides full access to many journals.
- ProQuest Databases ** This link opens in a new windowProQuest databases include Nursing and Allied Health Source, International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text, Dissertations & Theses A&I and ABI/Inform Complete.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Knowledge provides access to 23,000 academic journals from the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes Web of Science Citation Index, which fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. Provides some abstracts and access to EndNote Web.
Publication Finder: Find Journals Online
Need to know if we have an online subscription to a particular journal? Try conducting a title search in our Publication Finder, which provides access to all of our electronic journal subscriptions. Publication Finder also allows you to browse by discipline.
