Collections for B. I. Moody III College of Business Administration

COLL 1-B 06 c – University Archives: Economics and Finance

COLL 3 – Watson Family Papers

Correspondence, financial and legal records of several families from the Port Gibson, Mississippi region. Among the themes reflected in the collection are the Presbyterian Church and its activities in Mississippi, economic pursuits especially plantation management, relations with blacks as both slaves and freedmen, and health concerns including recurring yellow fever epidemics. Also included are the papers of Major J. W. Watson, U. S. Army (ca. 1865-1920) who served in Indian Wars and as an Indian agent during the 1890s and in Cuba during the Spanish-American War. He wrote about the Cuban Revolution of 1917. He also wrote some virulently anti-German pieces during World War I. The collection was donated by Dalton Watson of Waterproof, Louisiana.

COLL 13 – Rees Family Papers

This collection, containing personal and business correspondence of the Henry Rees family of Breaux Bridge, Louisiana reflects life from about the mid-nineteenth century to the twentieth century. It deals with family life, illness (such as yellow fever), community life, agriculture, finances, taxes, legal matters and attitudes and opinions on contemporary events. Included also are the legal papers of Henry Rees generated while he served as Justice of the Peace in St. Martin Parish and Orderly Sergeant in the Militia. This collection was donated by Henry Rees and George W. Marshall.

COLL 200 – Abrom Kaplan Papers

Abrom Kaplan was considered to be one of the greatest pioneers of the Southwestern Louisiana rice industry, opening rice mills in Crowley, Abbeville, Gueydan, Esterwood, and Donaldsonville, Louisiana. The town of Kaplan in Vermilion Parish was named after him. This collection consists of diaries, correspondence, financial records, ledgers, letterpress books, microfilm, notebooks, and other miscellaneous materials.

COLL 251 – Couret Farm Account Books

This collection consists of 10 account books documenting economic conditions on the Couret Farm from 1887 to 1966. This includes accounts with tenants. Donated by Mary Agnes Callawsy.

COLL 301 – Offshore Oil and Gas History Project Collection

The Minerals Management Service (MMS), U.S. Department of the Interior, sponsored a study to examine the historical evolution of the offshore oil and gas industry and its effects on Louisiana’s coastal culture, economy, landscape, and society. Between 2001 and 2006, over 450 interviews were recorded for the project. Each interview provides a unique look at the offshore oil and gas industry and its impacts on workers, their families and their communities. The interviews are on compact discs.

COLL 342 – Andrew Garber Collection

Research material gathered in preparing his master's thesis, The Miracle Mile: the Heymann Oil Center and the Oil Economy of Lafayette, Louisiana, 1953-1998 (Appalachian State University, 1998).

COLL 408 – Robert Gramling Collection

This collection consists of two publications that Robert Gramling edited: “East St. Mary Parish, Economic Growth and stabilization Strategies, 1980” and “Outer Continental Shelf Impacts, Morgan City, Louisiana, 1977.”

COLL 416 – Young Men’s Business Club Collection

The Lafayette unit of the Young Men’s Business Club was formed in March 1933. The primary purpose of the Club was to encourage and assist in the material, civic, and economic progress and prosperity of the city of Lafayette. This collection was donated by Barbara Walley, Lafayette, Louisiana.

MSS 214 – Starksville (Mississippi) Dairy Business Tour

Trip to Starksville, Mississippi on October 13-17, 1928. Dairy farmers and businessmen of Lafayette Parish toured the area. Resolutions adopted, 1928.

MSS 228 – Canal Bank and Trust Company of New Orleans, 100 Year Booklet

The Canal Bank of New Orleans was established on March 5, 1831, for the purpose of financing and digging the New Basin Canal. A booklet commemorating the centennial.

MSS 244 – Merchants, Tradesmen, and Manufacturers Booklet

Merchants, Tradesmen and Manufacturers Financial Condition for 1902 Cameron Parish & Lafayette Parish Louisiana. Information obtained from the 1902 R.G. Dun Mercantile Agency Reference Book. Published by Jan and Naomi McPeek, June 2005. Aaron’s Books, Salem, OH.

MSS 259 – Evangeline Economic and Planning District Miscellaneous

The Evangeline Economic & Planning District based in Lafayette, Louisiana. This newsletter was published by the EEPD and covers the Acadiana area.