Collections for B. I. Moody III College of Business Administration
- Introduction
- Department of Accounting
- Department of Economics and Finance
- Department of Management
- Department of Marketing
- Questions? Ask Us!
Questions?
Call: (337) 482-6025
Email: reference@louisiana.edu
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Accounting - University Archives
COLL 1-B 06 b – University Archives: Accounting
Accounting - Acadiana Manuscripts Collection
COLL 4 – Merchant’s Grocer Company (Lafayette, LA) Records
This collection contains account books, ledgers, other financial records, documents, correspondence, etc. of a Lafayette wholesale grocery company. Some materials were donated by Dr. Michael Martin and the Center for Louisiana Studies.
COLL 10 – M. A. Broussard Business Records
Account books and volumes of bills for M.A. Broussard, merchant of Royville and Youngsville, Louisiana. One volume has instructions on how to make dyes. Gift of Earl Vallor.
COLL 16 – Iberville Bank and Trust Company (Plaquemine, LA) Records
Correspondence and memoranda (1913-1919) of a bank in Plaquemine, Louisiana and five ledgers (1892-1894) of the Bank of Plaquemine.
COLL 154 – Southern and Northern Oil Company Records
This collection contains the financial transactions of the Southern and Northern Oil Company of Jennings, Louisiana. The collection includes checks, purchase invoices, bills, receipts, accounting statements, and miscellaneous items. Donated by Burt Tietje, Jennings, Louisiana in 1988.
COLL 158 – General Merchandise Stores (Broussard, LA) Ledgers
Ledgers of two Broussard, Louisiana, stores. Volume 1 is from Jonin General Merchandise Store, while volumes 2 through 6 are from Comeaux and St. Julien General Merchandise Store. These are unbound photocopies of the original ledgers. Donated by the T. L. Ducrest family, heirs of Gustave St. Julien. Made available by Maxine D. Duhon.
COLL 177 – New Iberia (Louisiana) City Records
Fines [double entry ledgers]; City Ordinances; City Assessment Rolls; and Minute Books.
COLL 196 – Scott (Louisiana) Business Ledger
This collection consists of photocopies of the Scott Business Ledger from 1886-1887. There are several references to Ozeme LeBlanc. Also included is some biographical information on Ozeme LeBlanc (handwritten).
COLL 241 – Cahanin Store Ledgers
This collection consists of two ledgers from the Cahanin Store in Opelousas. Volume 1, dated 1838-1840, contains 480 pages. The second ledger is dated December 1847 to 1850 and contains 549 pages. This manuscript kept the sales record of a general store, with many thousands of named accounts and what they bought. There are over 10,000 entries for such products as whiskey, tobacco, quinine, wines, clothing, fabrics, and much more. Volume 1 was donated by Linnie C. Herpin. Volume 2 was purchased from Charles Apfelbaum Rare Manuscripts & Archives.
COLL 251 – Couret Farm Account Books
Couret Farm was located in Lafayette Parish between Vermilionville/Lafayette and Carencro. This collection consists of ten account books documenting economic conditions on the Couret Farm from 1887 thru 1966. This includes accounts with tenants. This collection was donated by Mary Agnes Callaway. It was brought in by Lucien Martin.
This collection consists of ledgers ranging from 1869 to 1921 belonging to Paul Breau.
COLL 325 – Fils Gary General Story Collection
Ledgers and daybooks, 1918-1937, from a country store north of Erath in Vermilion Parish, LA.
COLL 334 – Cade Family Records
The ledger contains accounts for Bellevue Plantation, c. 1860 – 1895. The plantation was located in the Youngsville area of Lafayette Parish. Martha Morse Cade was the widow of Robert Cade. There is also a contract between Mrs. Cade and freedmen (1870); a 1930 land sale by William Cade, and a scan of a photo of Bellevue Plantation.
This collection consists of a journal (account book) of goods sold in Lucas LeBlanc's general store in Youngsville, Louisiana.
COLL 496 – Forest Hill Memorial Company Account Books
This collection consists of account books from the Forest Hill Memorial Company.
COLL 507 – Ludeau Pitre Papers
Ludeau Pitre was a farmer and rancher in the Prairie Ronde community of St. Landry Parish during the early and middle 20th century. He built and ran a general store and Dixieland Ranch, a sizable estate of land and cattle. This collection consists of records from the Ludeau Pitre Store and Dixieland Ranch. This includes store ledgers, sharecropper time books, correspondence, receipts, and miscellaneous farm material from the store and ranch. Boisy Pitre, great-grandson of Ludeau Pitre, donated this collection.
MSS 4 – Attakapas Post Daybook
Account book of the trading post in the Attakapas District, May 1812 - February 1814.
MSS 15 – Louis Joseph Arceneaux Business Records
Receipts, consignment statements, accounts, and reports from commission merchants in New Orleans for Louis J. Arceneaux, a Lafayette Parish cotton grower. Much of the material is in French. Includes biographical information and list of cotton carriers to New Orleans, both typed, 1 page. Donated by Beatrix A. Breaux.
MSS 61 – G. W. Mays Account Book
Account book for Mays, evidently a coal dealer in Verango County, Pennsylvania. Loose items include tax receipts for Mays and a Grange Demit certificate for M.L. Welton. Donated by Dennis A. Gibson, 1975.