US Foreign Policy Resources

This guide will help you find primary and secondary sources relating to US Foreign Policy

Reference Works From Dupré Catalog

American Foreign Relations since 1600

by Robert L. Beisner; Kurt Hanson (Editor)
Call Number: Z6465.U5 G84 2003
ISBN: 1576070808
Publication Date: 2003-06-10

A thorough update of the standard bibliography of American foreign relations literature from colonial times to the present day.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy

by Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780684806570
Publication Date: 2001-12-01

This revised version has been expanded with 44 new essays, all written by respected post-Cold War scholars who bring the latest perspectives to their topics. General category coverage includes concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control.

Encyclopedia of Cuban-United States Relations

Publication Date: 2010

This encyclopedia places persons and events in the context of Cuban relations with the United States and vice versa.

Encyclopedia of World Biography

by Gale Research Inc Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: CT103 .E56 1998
ISBN: 0787622214
Publication Date: 1997-12-02

Originally published in 1973 by McGraw Hill, this authoritative set is entirely revised and updated - the first complete revision in 25 years. This second edition includes approximately 2,000 more entries than the 1st edition, with more women, multicultural and international coverage, bringing the total to approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.

Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present

by Nicholas J. Cull, David Culbert, and David Welch
Publication Date: 2003

A truly international, authoritative A–Z guide to five centuries of propaganda, in both wartime and peacetime, which covers key moments, techniques, concepts, and some of the most influential propagandists in history.

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature

Call Number: AI3 .R4
Publication Date: 1901-

A reference work that indexes articles found in periodicals. Coverage from 1900 to 2009.

The Reader's Companion to U. S. Women's History

Publication Date: 1998

Gathers together articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past.

Searching History in the Dupré Library Catalog

History books are classified in the C, D, E and F sections in the Library of Congress, all of which are contained on the 3rd Floor of Dupré Library.


Library of Congress classification for History

C - Auxiliary sciences of history
  • Subclass CB....History of Civilization
  • Subclass CC....Archeology
  • Subclass CD....Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
  • Subclass CE....Technical Chronology. Calendar
  • Subclass CJ....Numismatics
  • Subclass CN....Inscriptions. Epigraphy
  • Subclass CR....Heraldry
  • Subclass CS....Genealogy
  • Subclass CT....Biography
D - World history (except American history)
  • Subclass D....History (General)
  • Subclass DA....Great Britain
  • Subclass DAW....Central Europe
  • Subclass DB....Austria – Liechtenstein – Hungary – Czechoslovakia
  • Subclass DC....France – Andorra – Monaco
  • Subclass DD....Germany
  • Subclass DE....Greco-Roman World
  • Subclass DF....Greece
  • Subclass DG....Italy – Malta
  • Subclass DH....Low Countries – Benelux Countries
  • Subclass DJ....Netherlands (Holland)
  • Subclass DJK....Eastern Europe (General)
  • Subclass DK....Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics – Poland
  • Subclass DL....Northern Europe.Scandinavia
  • Subclass DP....Spain – Portugal
  • Subclass DQ....Switzerland
  • Subclass DR....Balkan Peninsula
  • Subclass DS....Asia
  • Subclass DT....Africa
  • Subclass DU....Oceania (South Seas)
  • Subclass DX....Gypsies
E - American history
F - Local history of the United States and British, Dutch, French and Latin America

Biographies & Study Guides

Helpful in locating monographs and scholarly articles on the history of U.S. foreign relations.

Historical Newspapers

Dupré Library's Microforms collection offers a wide range of historical newspapers from the region and elsewhere. In addition, the Louisiana room also holds archived editions of area newspapers. They can be searched conventionally in the catalog as well.

  • Daily Advertiser (1869-present)
  • The Lafayette Gazette (1893-1908, Louisiana Room)
  • New York Times (1851-present)
  • Virginia Gazette (1736-1780)
  • Times of London (1785-present)
  • Times Picayune (1837-present)
  • American Periodical Series (18th Century to reconstruction)
  • Chicago Tribune (1849-1872)
  • Atlanta Constitution (1868-1953)
  • Miscellaneous slavery source materials, newspapers and narratives
  • Massachusetts newspapers (1767-1775)

You can also find a wide range of newspapers in full-text using:


For more information or help on using the microfilm collection, call (337) 482-1191.

Journals in History

Some Key Journals in U.S. Diplomatic History (U.S in the World, U.S. International History, U.S. Foreign Relations History) include:


To find a journal in the Library system, you can either search for it by title in the Dupré Library catalog or go to Publication Finder, where you can search for electronic journals by title or subject. Other useful journals might be International Security, International Organization, Foreign Affairs, and journals related to regional history and area studies.

Diplomatic History Sources

In addition to online resources, the Dupré Library holds numerous useful diplomatic history resources. Some of them include:


British Documents on Foreign Affairs (reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series B, The Near and Middle East, 1856-1914. Note: There are several different parts to this series, all searchable under title.)

  • JX 632.B745 1984

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)

  • JX 233.A3

Documents on German Foreign Policy (1918-1945)

  • JX 691.A46

U.S. State Department Bulletin

  • JX 232.A33

U.S. Treaties and Other Agreements

  • JX 231.A34

Documents on Canadian External Relations

  • JX 351.A5314

Documents on Germany under Occupation, 1945-1954

  • DD257.4 .R8

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents

  • J80 .A284

Other History-Related Government Resources

U.S. History Documents

Primary documents on the web, including U.S. Government documents. Search for more government information via the box on the right.
(Quoted material in these descriptions come directly from the sites the information describes.)


U.S. Government Documents & Information

To search for U.S. government documents, go to these guides:


Library contacts:

U.S. and State Government Information

Sandy Himel
shimel@louisiana.edu
(337) 482-1174

Federal Depository Library Program Logo