- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for Research
- Introduction to Research
Resources for Research
- Introduction to Research
- Keywords and Search Tips
- Searching a Database
- Looking for Research Articles?
- Full Text Online Journals
- Find eBooks
- Find Books in Dupré Library
- Citation Tools
- Questions? Ask Us!
The Writing Center
The UL Lafayette Department of English provides writing assistance at its Writing Center located in the library on the 1st floor in Room 155, around the corner from the Reference Desk.
In-person tutoring services are offered during the Fall and Spring semesters to help students, faculty, and staff from all disciplines at any stage in the writing process. Resources for those writing in English as a second language are also available.
Visit the Writing Center for more information and hours.
Select a Research Topic
Developing a good research topic may not be easy. Your topic should be specific enough to be interesting but broad enough so you can find adequate information. You can narrow your topic by focusing on:
- a specific geographic region
- a specific time period
- a specific person or population
- a specific cause, correlation or effect.
For more about selecting a topic, review "Selecting a Topic".
Created by Thompson Library, University of Michigan-Flint.
Credo Mind Map
Available in Credo Reference, the Mind Map is a brainstorming tool that helps you focus your research by displaying connections between search results to find related terms and expand your search. It is a good resource when you need topic ideas for your paper. To use the Mind Map:
- Type a keyword in the search box and select Mind Map from the drop-down menu.
- Your search term is highlighted in blue. Related terms are connected to it.
- To expand the map, select a term to include additional terms and topics related to the central concept.
To try it yourself, type a keyword in this box.
The following resources provide overviews of topics of high interest:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth coverage of important current issues. Includes a Hot Topics section with reports on popular subjects.
- EDS Research StartersOffers short summaries and overviews of thousands of popular topics. Research Starters are available at the top of your results list in EDS. For more information about Research Starters, watch this video.
Resources for Selecting a Topic
These databases provide access to reference resources with full-text entries on various topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources for most academic disciplines.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text resources from Oxford University Press. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps and much more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver three million full-text entries on all disciplines from reference works including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, guides and more. It also includes additional content from other sources such as EBSCO, JSTOR, and Google Books.