Resources for Research
Questions?
Call: (337) 482-6025
Email: reference@louisiana.edu
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Contact Me!
eBooks
The following resources provide access to Dupré Library's eBook collection.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new windowThis database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
- eBook Collection | EBSCO ** [see Note] This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an extensive collection of e-book titles online. (You may need to download the latest free version of Adobe Digital Editions.)
Digital Libraries
There are numerous collections of eBooks available on the Web. Here are just a few.
- HathiTrust Digital Library ** This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions that provides access to millions of titles (books, journals, etc.) viewable in PDF format.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections ** This link opens in a new windowProvides access to digitized print materials like newspapers and books, as well as photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, maps and more.
- Project Gutenberg ** This link opens in a new windowProvides free access to over 40,000 public domain e-Books.
More Information
For more information about eBooks, including additional eBook resources, visit:
Search These Places
Search the Dupré Library Catalog to find print books, eBooks, periodical titles, and government documents.
- Google BooksSearches the full-text of books and magazines.
- Books in the public domain are available in full-text online and can be downloaded for free.
- Books under copyright still appear in search results with snippets or a preview available.
- Books out of copyright generally have the entire contents available.
After locating book, use the "Find in a library" link to find a local library that owns the title.