Resources for Petroleum Engineering
A guide to books, eBooks, journal articles, Internet resources and other material on the subject area of petroleum engineering.
Looking for Research Articles?
To find articles on a current topic in engineering, check out one of these databases. Magazine and journal articles are usually published more quickly than books and other information, so they are most useful for finding recent information.
The Library's Reference Online Center (ROC Lab) has many other databases listed, from general to specific. Remember, these databases are only for use by University of Louisiana at Lafayette students, faculty and staff. Use your ULID and password to access from off-campus.
- AAPG Datapages Archives (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) ** This link opens in a new windowDigital library of full-text geological publications administered by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. This resource indexes the AAPG Bulletin’s current editions, historical issues back to 1917, and allows access to peer-reviewed articles ahead of print. Other publications in the digital library include the Journal of Petroleum Geology, the Journal of Sedimentary Research, and releases from regional geological societies including Lafayette , New Orleans, and Houston.
Pull down menus located at the top of the page will list documents by collection; can also perform primitive keyword searching using the "Full Text" field. Subscription endowed by the Lafayette Geological Society. - Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865. EbscoHost Mobile is now available for hand-held devices, with iPhone application for quick searches.
- Credo Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive engineering database indexing over 5000 journals, conferences, and reports, about half include abstracts; coverage from 1969, with weekly updates; subject coverage is strongest in chemical and process engineering (15%), computers and data processing (12%), electronics and communication (12%), applied physics (11%), civil engineering (6%),and mechanical engineering (6%).
- GreenFILE | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library ** [see Note] This link opens in a new windowGreat source! IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others. UL’s online subscription includes access to the abstracts and full text of materials published since 1988 and select content published since 1913.
- ThomasNet ** This link opens in a new windowSearch ThomasNet to find manufacturers, service providers and distributors. Over 67,000 product categories represented. Also provides 2D and 3D CAD drawings from major manufacturers, a forum and other resources.
- Science & Technology Collection | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowThe Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowFully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines; Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles; provides some abstracts and access to EndNote Web. Some retrospective data from 1945.
Search These Places
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library ** [see Note] This link opens in a new windowFull-text access for research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, and related disciplines. Subscription includes access to IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and active standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences.
* Note: Excessive printing and downloading, even though available functionality on IEEE Xplore, is not permitted under the license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action.
- Coverage: 1800s for select titles – present, updated daily
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Vendor: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
- Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Petroleum Engineering
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowComprehensive, interdisciplinary engineering database. Includes indexing to journals, patents, and conference reference materials.
- Coverage: 1884 – present, updated weekly
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Vendor: Elsevier
- Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Petroleum Engineering
- Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.