Resources for French & Francophone Studies
Special Collections in Dupré Library
All of its resources are available for conducting research, primarily on topics related to Louisiana and the Acadiana region specifically. Special Collections includes:
Center for Louisiana Studies
- Center for Louisiana StudiesThe Center for Louisiana Studies is dedicated to researching, publicizing, promoting, and preserving Louisiana’s cultures and history. The Center is composed of three divisions: the University of Louisiana at Lafayette Press, the Research Division, and the Programming and Special Projects Division and has an extensive collection of noncommercial recordings from the Acadiana region, documents and oral histories.
Other Libraries & Digital Collections
Digital Libraries & Archives
- Creating French CultureTreasures from Bibliothéque Nationale de France
- EuroDocs, FranceOnline access to European documents.
- EuropeanaA digitized multimedia library of the European cultural heritage: digitized books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc...
- GallicaMore than 1 million digitized documents (books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, scores, sound recordings, etc...) at the French National Library.
- Littératures du MaghrebA site dedicated to the needs of scholars of the literatures from North Africa.
- Réseau Francophone NumeriqueCollaborative project among 'francophone' libraries to digitize books, newspapers, journals, archives, maps and audiovisual documents.
- Signets BnF Langue et littératures françaises et d'expression françaiseWebsites on French and Francophone languages and literatures selected and maintained by the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Media
- Les Radios Francophones Publiques
Biographical Databases
- Biography: In Context | Gale ** This link opens in a new windowThis database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
- Twayne's Author Series: Literature | Gale ** This link opens in a new windowTwayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.
Reference Materials Online
- Credo Reference ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
- Coverage: varies, updates vary
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Infobase
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference - eBooks | Gale ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for most academic disciplines.
- Coverage: most current edition, updated regularly
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Gale
- Subjects: General, eBooks, Reference - Literary Reference Plus | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new windowOffers a selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics.
- Coverage: dates vary
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: English, Humanities, Literature, Mass Media, Reference - Oxford English Dictionary (OED) ** This link opens in a new windowFull-text, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary.
- Coverage: updated every three months.
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: Oxford University Press
- Subjects: General, English, Literature, Mass Media, Reference - Oxford Reference ** [see Note] This link opens in a new windowFull-text reference sources for most academic disciplines. Subscription includes access to English and bilingual dictionaries, thesauruses, quotations, maps, and much more.
* Note: Only one (1) user is allowed to use this resource at a time due to the licensing agreement with the database provider. Try again later if you experience access issues.
- Coverage: updated monthly
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library in conjunction with LOUIS
- Vendor: Oxford University Press
- Subjects: General, Reference