Resources for French & Francophone Studies
- Find Books
- Find Articles
- Other Resources
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Search Credo Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull text, online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Content pages also include news, images, and videos.
Search Google Scholar
- Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.
Finding Articles on French Language, Literature & Culture
This is a list of Dupré online databases that may have articles, eBooks or other information on French and Francophone Studies. This is not to suggest that you won't find information on your topic on other library databases, it's just a good place to start.
- Dupré Library - DatabasesSearch through other library databases
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. (Linked full text)
- WorldCat via FirstSearch (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowSearchable online catalog for books and other materials from libraries around the world. Used for finding Interlibrary Loan materials.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, online access to humanities and social sciences journals. Dupré Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe library’s subscription to JSTOR includes the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, and VII Collections. The Arts & Sciences Collections represent the building blocks of an multi-disciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new windowA database that contains the text of eight major French literary collections.
- L'ile This link opens in a new windowLe Centre de documentation virtuel sur la litterature et les ecrivains quebecois.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to an extensive collection of e-book titles online.
- Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new windowOffers over 45,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. (Does not require Dupré Library login.)
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of academic and research institutions that provides access to millions of titles (books, journals, etc.) viewable in PDF format.
- Vente et Gestion (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting and tax, administration, industry and manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.
- Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowThis database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography in Context also includes full text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the arts and humanities. (No full text)
- Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day. (Some full text)
How to Get Back to That Article You Found in a Library Search
Open the library.louisiana.edu home page and click once in the EDS Search Box.
Type a search term - usually a simple word or phrase - into the search box.<br><br>For this example, let's type <b>Meditation</b>
Click <span class="component"><i><b>Search</b></i></span>
Click <span class=""><i><b> 					Full Text </b></i><b>to bring up listings that have articles attached (or in easy reach).</b></span>
Click <span class=""><i><b> 					Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals</b></i><b> </b><i></i>if your professor wants you to find articles that are peer reviewed. Note that this will get rid of all the results from newspapers, magazines, audio and video recordings,and most books.</span>
If you see <span class=""><i><b>PDF Full Text </b></i>you can click on it for instant access to that article just as it was printed.</span>
To save the citation information your professor will require if you use it in a paper, click the little yellow <span class=""><i><b>Cite </b></i><b><i></i></b>icon on the right</span>
Scroll down the list to find the citation style your professor requires - ALA, APA, or MLA. <b><i>H</i></b><span class=""><i><b>ighlight </b></i>the citation and copy it, using CTRL-C or right click and choose "Copy"</span>
Open the document where you are keeping notes on your research, and Right click to <span class=""><i><b>Paste without formatting </b></i>or press<i><b> Ctrl+Shift+V</b></i></span>
If that doesn't work, and the citation you pasted looks funny, just remove the formatting. <br><br>In Google Docs, click the very last button under <span class=""><i><b>More </b></i>(or just the very last button on the right of the toolbar) that looks like a <i><b>Tx</b>.<br><br></i></span>
To grab a permalink that will take you back to your article the next time you need it, Click the <span class=""><i><b>Permalink button </b></i>that looks like a little chain link</span>
When you click <span class=""><i><b>Permalink </b></i>it makes a long web address appear at the very top of the page. This is the address that can get you to that article from any computer with internet access. You need it!</span>
Copy the <span class=""><i><b>Permalink </b></i>by clicking it to select the whole address and then pressing CTRL-C or right clicking and choosing "Copy" from the menu</span>
Return to your notes document and paste that link below your citation. Hit the space bar after pasting and it will automatically turn into a clickable link. <br><br>That's it. You're done.
Finding an Article Citation
Found an article you think you need but can't find the full-text in the Dupré Library Catalog or article database?
- Publication FinderPublication Finder allows you to search for journals by title or subject, browse journals by subject and search within those journals.
Ordering Articles Not Available at Dupré Library
Many online databases link to full-text articles, either directly or through the LinkSource service. If the article is not available full-text, LinkSource can search Dupré Library's holdings for a print copy of the article. LinkSource also facilitates an Interlibrary Loan ILLiad request when a Dupré Library copy is not available, which allows you to order the article via Interlibrary Loan. Look for the Link Source logo when using online databases.