Collections for College of Education & Human Development

COLL 1-B 07 c – University Archives: Foundations and Leadership

COLL 12 – Joel L. Fletcher, Jr. Papers

Joel L. Fletcher was an educator in Louisiana for over fifty years. Most of that time he was at Southwestern Louisiana Institute/University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), including twenty years as President. Includes Louisiana history material; items on Acadian vigilante committees; William Wyatt of Vernon, Louisiana business records; information on agriculture and industrial development. Also included are records of the College of Agriculture while Fletcher taught, especially during the 1930s; his correspondence as Dean; correspondence of other members of the department; the records of the Southwestern Agriculturist and the Mid-Winter Fair; etc. This collection was donated by Joel Lafayette Fletcher, Jr.

COLL 30 – Harry L. Griffin Papers

Dr. Harry Lewis Griffin was a long-time dean of the College of Liberal Arts at Southwestern Louisiana Institute (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette). This collection consists of Dr. Griffin’s personal papers, including writings, speeches, correspondence, and materials he collected reflecting his interest in south Louisiana history, political science, education, and civic affairs. H.L. Griffin and Lucile M. Griffin donated this collection.

COLL 43 – Edith Garland Dupré Papers

Edith Garland Dupré was an educator and member of the first faculty of Southwestern Louisiana Industrial Institute (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) who began the first library on campus. She remained at SLII (later Southwestern Louisiana Institute) for her entire professional career, retiring in 1944. Miss Dupré is best known as an English professor, but she also served in many other capacities including registrar and chair of the Library Committee. This collection reflects Miss Dupré's life and the high regard in which she was held by the community. It contains personal papers, material referring to the early years of the University, and letters from her brother, Congressman Henry Garland Dupré. Most of the material in this collection was donated by Edith Garland Dupré, with later additions donated by Leonder Labbe and Camille Claibourne.

COLL 52 – Thomas H. Harris Papers

Thomas H. Harris was the Louisiana State Superintendent of Public Schools from 1908 to 1940. This collection contains correspondence, speeches, his autobiography and memoirs, photographs, financial documents, and materials (telegrams, newspaper clippings) concerning his death. Sadie Harris Baskin donated the collection.

COLL 195 – W. D. Smith Collection

W. D. Smith was an educator in Lafayette Parish schools for nearly thirty years. He was a teacher at and later principal of Paul Breaux School, for many years the only school for African Americans in Lafayette. This collection consists of teaching material, correspondence, photographs, notes on education and race, a yearbook of Paul Breaux School, and other miscellaneous material.

COLL 265 – Andrew A. McBride Papers

Andrew Arthur McBride was a teacher, principal, and administrator in the Lafayette Parish School system for nearly half a century. He was the Parish Superintendent of Education from 1946 to 1948. After retiring from education, he became associated with James Alpha in publishing The Lafayette Progress and later worked for the Daily Advertiser. This collection consists of teacher’s notes, certificates, correspondence, and scrapbooks of mainly news clippings.

COLL 305 – Louis J. Michot Collection

Michot was a businessman, philanthropist, and politician. His business enterprises included the Burger Chef restaurant chain, transportation, oil drilling, insurance, banking, and international trade. He served as a Democrat in the Louisiana House of Representatives from 1960 to 1964 and was elected to the Louisiana State Board of Education from 1968-1972. He was then elected State Superintendent of Education and served from 1972-1976. During his term, he championed vocational-technical education and brought educational television to the state. This collection consists of Michot’s working and personal, photographs, and several oversize certificates.

MSS 47 – J. K. Haynes Interview

Typescript of an interview of J.K. Haynes, Executive Secretary of the Louisiana Education Association by Doris White, USL graduate student.