Collections for College of Education & Human Development

COLL 1-B 07 b – University Archives: Curriculum and Instruction

COLL 106 – Eliza Quintilla Morgan Anders Papers

Ms. Anders was a school teacher based in the Acadiana region. This collection contains biographical information, writings of Ms. Anders, and other miscellaneous materials. Writings include material on the Daughters of the American Revolution, education in Lafayette, and the history of institutions and organizations in Lafayette.

COLL 126 – Keystone View Company Slides

This collection contains stereopticon slides and glass plates produced by the Keystone View Company of Meadville, Pa. These views are of scenes from all over the world. They were produced for educational purposes and discovered in a Gretna, Louisiana, elementary school. There is one study booklet on Mexico which accompanies a section of the slides. One contains scenes from stories of Peter Rabbit, and the second contains miscellaneous items including several images related to the Civil War. The donor also included a stereopticon viewer. Donated by Don Robertson, Lafayette, La.

COLL 309 – Sylvia S. Bienvenu Papers

Sylvia Segura Bienvenu is an educator on Acadian culture. She has worked for the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette), the Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation, & Tourism, and the Acadian Memorial in St. Martinville. This collection consists of personal papers, writings, class material, grants, evaluations, and presentations. There are also some media items and volumes of her lesson plans and evaluations. Sylvia S. Bienvenu donated the collection.

COLL 311 – Zachary Richard Papers

Zachary Richard is a world-renowned musician, recording artist, author, and educator. This collection contains Zachary Richard’s personal papers, including production and research notes from his documentary Against the Tide, publications, music, press and newspaper clippings, and publicity items. The collection also documents his Francophone initiatives. Zachary Richard donated the collection.

COLL 313 – Jane Ellen Carstens Papers

Dr. Jane Ellen Carstens was a professor of library science at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. This collection consists of her personal and working files. Her personal files include materials on education, church activities, her dissertation, and Greek organizations. Her working files include her work with and outside of UL Lafayette, committees, and programs. There are also books with topics ranging from libraries to music.

COLL 374 – Elodie Comeaux Collection

Elodie Comeaux was a teacher at Judice High School. This collection includes correspondence, writing assignments from her sixth-grade students, and a copy of the Judice High School Scribbler.

COLL 472 – Elia Marie Moreau Collection

Elia Marie Moreau was an educator who taught in St. Landry Parish for 43 years. This collection consists of her certificates, school records, news clippings, baptism record, photographs, and other materials as well. Donated by her niece Dr. Bonnie D. Belleau.

COLL 528 – City of Opelousas Oral History Collection

Opelousas is a city located in St. Landry Parish. Established in 1720, it is the third oldest city in Louisiana and prides itself as the Zydeco capital of the world. This collection contains oral histories from residents of Opelousas. Topics include life in Opelousas during the 1940s and 1950s, experiences as educators, the Civil Rights Movement, Cajun and Creole cultures, Zydeco music, and the Louisiana Orphan Train Riders. Melanie Lee-Lebouef of the City of Opelousas Tourism donated this collection.

COLL 533 - Jeanette Plauché Parker Bendel Gardens Collection

Jeanette Plauché Parker is retired professor of education from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. Her book Bendel Gardens: An Historic Treasure in Lafayette, Louisiana, presents an authentic history of the Bendel Gardens subdivision through family and church records, legal documents, personal interviews, and other primary sources. This collection contains Dr. Parker’s research notes on Bendel Gardens. Dr. Jeanette Plauché Parker donated the collection.