Skip to Main Content

Resources for Faculty

Acadiana Manuscripts Collection

The Acadiana Manuscripts Collection includes over 500 collections of personal or family papers, business or organizational records, photograph collections, oral history recordings, and much more. Most of the manuscript collections relate to the Acadiana region of Louisiana, but several have a much broader scope.

Online listings of materials are available via the Special Collections Finding Aids and Dupré Library Catalog.

Contact

Email:  speccoll@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6031
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

Cajun and Creole Music Collection

The Cajun and Creole Music Collection (CCMC) consists of over 11,000 commercial recordings, selected non-commercial recordings, and other music-related research materials. Formats include both analog and digital media: 78rpm, 45rpm, and LP (33 ⅓) records, 8-track tapes, audio-cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes, and DVDs. The expanding collection also contains books, periodicals, photographs, artifacts, manuscripts and other archival materials. The many different genres and styles of the Creole and Cajun musical cultures of Southwest and parts of Southeast Louisiana can be found in the CCMC.

Contact

Email: ccmc@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-1174
Visit: Room 386 - Inside of the Ernest J. Gaines Center

Digital Archives

Special Collections provides digitization services for research and scholarly use. Digitization efforts are utilized to preserve the University's archival holdings and to increase their accessibility for the community.

 

For more information on Dupré Library's policies on digitization, view the Digitization and Photoduplication Policies and Procedures.

To request digitized materials from Special Collections, complete a Digitization Request Form.

Contact

Scott Jordan - Interim Head of Special Collections, and Digitization Archivist
Email: scott.jordan@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-5702
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

Louisiana Collection

The Louisiana Collection is a division of Special Collections and contains various published and unpublished materials relating to the University and Louisiana. Subjects include agriculture, arts and literature, business and industry, education, history, and politics and government.

Materials include:

Contact

Email:  speccoll@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6031
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

Rare Book Collection

The Rare Book Collection contains items published before 1900 and items that have intrinsic value such as limited editions or copies inscribed by the author. Strengths include horticulture, architecture, and French literature and history.

Contact

Email:  speccoll@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6031
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

Scholars Hub (Institutional Repository)

Scholars Hub, UL Lafayette's Institutional Repository, is a digital archive of scholarly work produced by University of Louisiana at Lafayette faculty, staff, students, research centers, and faculty emeriti. It is designed to highlight the university's academic output and institutional records in an open access setting, enhancing visibility and research opportunities. The repository typically includes a variety of materials such as research articles, theses, dissertations, conference papers, and other academic contributions from the university community.

Contact

Email: repositories@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6427
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

University Archives

The University Archives houses the archival records of the University starting around 1900. The Archives is especially strong in the records of the Office of the President. Other materials include records from the Student Government Association, the Registrar’s Office, and the Department of Speech. There is a large collection of photographs starting in the 1900s and football game films from 1968 to 2000.

Photographs of Southwestern Louisiana Institute from albums compiled by Presidents Edwin L. Stephens and Lethar E. Frazar between 1923 and 1940 are available online through the Louisiana Digital Library.

Contact

Email:  speccoll@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6031
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

U.S. Government Information

Edith Garland Dupré Library was congressionally designated a Federal Depository Library in 1938. As a selective depository, Dupré Library receives over 40 percent of selections available to depository libraries through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO), known formerly as the Government Printing Office. Free access to government information is provided to the general public, in accordance with Section 1911, Title 44 of the U.S. Code (PDF).

Contact

Email: fdlgovinfo@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-1174