Resources for Faculty

The Special Collections Department brings together a wide variety of materials representing the south and southwest Louisiana experience. Special Collections supports research for undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and other scholars whose work relies on archival records, rare books, manuscripts, media, digital files, and other primary and secondary sources. Special Collections includes the University Archives & Acadiana Manuscripts Collection, Louisiana Room, Rare Book Collection, Digital Archives, UL Lafayette Institutional Repository (IR) and Special Collections affiliates.

• View Special Collections

Contact Special Collections:

Email: speccoll@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6031
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

Special Collections provides digitization services for research and scholarly use. Digitization efforts are utilized to preserve the University's archival holdings and to increase their accessibility for the community.

For more information on Dupré Library's policies on digitization, view the Digitization and Photoduplication Policies and Procedures.

To request digitized materials from Special Collections, complete a Digitization Request Form.

• View Digital Exhibits
• View collections from UL Lafayette in the Louisiana Digital Library

Contact the Digitization Archivist:

Scott Jordan - Interim Head of Special Collections, and Digitization Archivist
Email: scott.jordan@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-5702
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

UL Lafayette's Institutional Repository (IR) is an online space that brings together and provides open access to the University's scholarship and intellectual content. It is an archive for collecting, preserving, and disseminating digital copies of the University's scholarship and intellectual content. Anyone who is affiliated with the University community can submit materials into the repository.

• View UL Lafayette's Institutional Repository

Contact the UL Lafayette Institutional Repository administrator:

Dr. Zachary Stein - Interim Assistant Dean of Technical Services
Email: zachary.stein@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-6427
Visit: Jefferson Caffery Reading Room - Room 314

The Ernest J. Gaines Center is an international center for scholarship on Ernest Gaines and his work. The Center honors the work of UL Lafayette’s Writer-in-Residence Emeritus and provides a space for scholars and students to work with the Gaines papers and manuscripts.

Born in 1933 on a plantation near New Roads, Louisiana, Gaines based his award-winning novels on the African American experience in the rural South. His works include The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman (1971) and A Lesson Before Dying (1993), both later produced as award-winning films. Gaines’s generous donation of his early papers and manuscripts (through 1983) and some artifacts provided the foundation for the Center’s collection.

• View the Ernest J. Gaines Center

Contact the Ernest J. Gaines Center:

Email: gainescenter@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-1848
Visit: Room 380

The Cajun and Creole Music Collection (CCMC) consists of over 9,000 commercial recordings, selected non-commercial recordings, and other music-related research materials. Formats include both analog and digital media: 78rpm, 45rpm, and LP (33 ⅓) records, 8-track tapes, audio-cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes, and DVDs. The expanding collection also contains books, periodicals, photographs, artifacts, manuscripts and other archival materials. The many different genres and styles of the Creole and Cajun musical cultures of Southwest and parts of Southeast Louisiana can be found in the CCMC.

• View the Cajun and Creole Music Collection

Contact the Cajun and Creole Music Collection:

Email: ccmc@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-1174
Visit: Room 386 - Inside of the Ernest J. Gaines Center

Edith Garland Dupré Library was congressionally designated a Federal Depository Library in 1938. As a selective depository, Dupré Library receives over 40 percent of selections available to depository libraries through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO), known formerly as the Government Printing Office. Free access to government information is provided to the general public, in accordance with Section 1911, Title 44 of the U.S. Code (PDF). 

• Access government publications and information

Contact the U.S. Government Information librarian:

Email: fdlgovinfo@louisiana.edu
Call: (337) 482-1174