Resources for Biology

AmphibiaWeb provides taxonomic information for every recognized species of amphibian in the world, including species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, literature references, photos and range maps for many species.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes.

A resource that gathers together knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria, and shares that knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.

The Human Biology Association is a vibrant nonprofit scientific organization dedicated to supporting and disseminating innovative research and teaching on human biological variation in evolutionary, social, historical, and environmental context worldwide.

Established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.

A large library of science videos, simulations, case studies, teaching guides, documents, narratives, and interactive activities.

The gateway to invasive species information; covering federal, state, local and international sources.
Invasive species are plants, animals, or pathogens that are non-native (or alien) to the ecosystem under consideration, and whose introduction causes or is likely to cause harm.

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines

We produce and distribute maps and other geospatial data on American wetland and deepwater habitats, as well as monitor changes in these habitats through time. This information is available to the public through two primary datasets: the wetlands geospatial dataset and wetlands status and trends reports.

Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. The structures in the archive range from tiny proteins and bits of DNA to complex molecular machines like the ribosome.

Science.gov provides access to millions of authoritative scientific research results from U.S. federal agencies.

ScienceDaily offers breaking news stories about the latest scientific discoveries, submitted by leading universities and other research organizations.