- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Collections for College of the Arts
- Department of Visual Arts
Collections for College of the Arts
- School of Architecture and Design
- School of Music and Performing Arts
- Department of Visual Arts
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Visual Arts - University Archives
COLL 1-B 50 – University Archives: Department of Visual Arts
Visual Arts - Acadiana Manuscripts Collection
COLL 97 – Mary Alice Fontenot Papers
Mary Alice Fontenot Riehl was a journalist and author. As an author, Mrs. Riehl is best known for her series of children's books on Clovis Crawfish. She has also written other books for children as well as cookbooks and works on local and state history. As a journalist, she worked for many newspapers in the region including the Lafayette Advertiser, the Opelousas Daily World, and the Crowley Post-Signal. This collection focuses on Mary Alice Fontenot's journalistic and literary career. Included are research notes and photographs for some of her newspaper articles; original drawings by Eric Vincent and Keith Graves and original music by Mary Alice and Jeanne and Robert Gilmore for the Clovis Crawfish series; and text for some of her history books and children's works. She also worked as a researcher for Frances Parkinson Keyes. There are some letters from Mrs. Keyes in the collection. This collection contains scrapbooks containing clippings, reviews, photographs, correspondence, drawings, promotional material, and writings. There are also letters from school children thanking Mary Alice for visiting their classroom and some artwork and artifacts inspired by Clovis Crawfish stories. The papers were donated by Mary Alice Fontenot as part of the Women in Louisiana Collection.
COLL 99 – Ben E. Looney Papers
This collection consists of prints, correspondence, short stories, clippings, promotional material, photographs and other miscellaneous materials of this noted Louisiana artist.
COLL 102 – Mary A. McIntyre-Blake Papers
Mary Adelaide McIntrye-Blake was a well-known artist whose work is found in many Catholic churches in south Louisiana. This collection contains mainly photocopies of material Ms. McIntrye had in her studio in Carencro, LA, including documentation and works in churches and other locations. There are also a few original pieces of art.
COLL 249 – Janine A. Collins Collection
Janine A. Collins is a portrait artist who has painted more than three hundred portraits that can be found in collections throughout the United States. A portrait of Miss Edith Garland Dupré is housed in Dupré Library at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. This collection consists of 3 prints of her Miss Edith Garland Dupré portrait. Also included is a photocopy of a photograph of the first faculty that includes Miss Dupré. Donated by the Communications Department at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and Ms. Janine A. Collins.
COLL 274 – Frances T. Love Collection
Frances Taylor Love was the Director of the Art Museum at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) from 1965 to 1983. This collection consists of her writings. It also contains her working files, which are filed alphabetically by title. She collected material mostly from the Acadiana area. Frances T. Love donated the collection.
COLL 398 – Franklin Boggs Collection
Franklin Boggs painted the mural "The History of Medicine in Louisiana" which is located on the 1 floor of Dupré Library. This collection consists of biographical information, correspondence, interview information, grant material, financial records, articles, newspaper clippings, etc.
COLL 505 – Jerome J. Malinowski Collection
Jerome “Jerry” Malinowski is professor emeritus of industrial design and the program coordinator from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. This collection consists of industrials design work created by Professor Malinowski and his students. Two of Jerome Malinowski’s students digitized the files and donated the entire collection to Edith Garland Dupré Library.
This collection contains a drawing of a home signed, “Bärä 1980.” It is print 74/116.