Collections for College of the Arts

COLL 1-B 04h – University Archives: Music

COLL 104 – Irene Whitfield Holmes Papers

Articles and awards from a leading educator and authority on Acadian folk music. This collection contains a small amount of correspondence, writings (many of which are autobiographical and were published), awards, certificates, and other materials.

COLL 174 – Anne K. Simpson Papers

Anne Key Simpson was a longtime accompanist and educator in the School of Music at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette). She also published many works on African American writers and composers.This collection contains Ms. Simpson’s research papers, including materials related to her book on Ernest J. Gaines: A Gathering of Gaines: The Man and The Writer (Lafayette, 1991). The collection also includes her other writings, correspondence, programs from concerts and recitals she accompanied for, and program notes and reviews she wrote for the Acadiana Symphony, Chorale Acadienne, and local music performances.Thetis Cusimano, Ms. Simpson’s daughter, donated the bulk of the collection.

COLL 181 – Shane K. Bernard Collection

Material on swamp pop music gathered initially for research for Dr. Bernard's M.A. thesis. The collection contains correspondence, photographs, magazine and newspaper articles, flyers, promotional materials, notes, and miscellaneous materials. This collection was donated by Shane K. Bernard.

COLL 199 – Charles H. Reynolds Collection

Charles Heath Reynolds was a professor of piano, composition, and arranging at the USL School of Music. This collection consists of programs, photographs, correspondence, new clippings, reports, and sheet music composed and arranged by Reynolds.

COLL 223 – Mildred Ruth and George Boylston Brown Music Collection

This collection contains unpublished music. Most of the compositions and arrangements by Mildred Ruth Brown are based on French folk songs. There are arrangements for piano, voice, and string orchestra and quartet. Many of the arrangements by George B. Brown are hymn tunes for organ or keyboard. There is also some vocal material.

COLL 266 – I. Stewart Hoch Papers

Ivan Stewart Hoch was an associate professor of theater at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) and served as Chairman of the Department of Performing Arts. This collection includes production files from about 1974 to 1993 include scene plans, script analyses, cast rosters, sound, and lighting cue sheets, prop lists, costume plans, rehearsal schedules, correspondence, notes, clippings, press releases, publicity photographs, music scores, and performances captured on VHS. The collection also includes teaching materials, including lecture notes and an acting workbook, and theater history research materials. Nancy Hoch donated this collection.

COLL 291 – Robert and Jeanne Gilmore Papers

Robert Gilmore was on the music faculty of the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette). During his twenty-three years at the University, he served as professor of music, brass instructor, and band director. He and his wife Jeanne traveled and published materials concerned with the French heritage of South Louisiana. This collection consists of sheet music, photographs, etc.

COLL 295 – L’Heure de Musique Records

The L’Heure de Musique Records Club of Lafayette was organized in 1949. This club is a member of the National Federation of Music Clubs. The scope of this organization is the furtherance of musical interests in Lafayette and the earnest study of music in all its phases, for the mutual benefit of its members. This collection consists of scrapbooks ranging from 1949 to 1995 which include clippings, correspondence, photographs, certificates, flyers, annual programs, etc. There is also a minute book which contains the handwritten minutes of meetings from 1955-1957.

COLL 311 – Zachary Richard Papers

Zachary Richard is a world-renowned musician, recording artist, author, and educator. This collection contains Zachary Richard’s personal papers, including production and research notes from his documentary Against the Tide, publications, music, press and newspaper clippings, and publicity items. The collection also documents his Francophone initiatives. Zachary Richard donated the collection.

COLL 314 – Johnnie Allan Papers

Correspondence and clippings regarding legendary swamp pop musician, educator, and author Johnnie Allan.

COLL 320 – Willis F. Ducrest Scrapbooks

Willis Ducrest was the Head of the Department of Music (later the School of Music) at Southwestern Louisiana Institute (now University of Louisiana at Lafayette) from 1947 until 1977.This collection consists of scrapbooks created by Mr. Ducrest that reflect his career in music and his great interest in family genealogy.

COLL 336 – Jack LaBauve Collection

Concert scores arranged by Jack LaBauve, who taught brass, percussion and musical arranging at Southwestern Louisiana Institute (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) from 1948 to 1977.

COLL 337 – Antoine J. “A. J.” LeBlanc Collection

A. J. LeBlanc was dedicated to promoting tourism in Acadiana through his involvement in many Louisiana tourism organizations. This collection contains his personal and professional papers, photographs, news clippings, audio/audiovisual music collection, correspondence, scrapbooks, and miscellaneous artifacts.

COLL 343 – Sigma Alpha Iota (Lafayette, LA Chapter) Records

Records of the Lafayette, Louisiana, chapter of an international fraternity of music students and musicians.

COLL 379 – Gerald Hubbell Collection

Dr. Gerald Hubbell and his wife Geraldine Cormier Hubble have been patrons of Acadiana arts and music since the early 1970s and have founded or co-founded several groups, including Chorale Acadienne and Acadiana Symphony Orchestra’s Conservatory of Music and Youth Orchestra. Dr. Hubbell served as sound archivist for live performances by the Acadiana Symphony Orchestra, Chorale Acadienne, and the Vermilion Chamber Orchestra. This collection contains mostly choral and instrumental music performed by local, regional, and university ensembles and recorded by Dr. Hubble primarily on open reel tape between 1977 and 1997, with some recordings preserved on Digital Audio Tape (DAT) from about 1994 to 2000. Gerald Hubbell donated this collection.

COLL 395 – Barry Jean Ancelet Papers

Dr. Barry Jean Ancelet served on the faculty of University of Southwestern Louisiana/University of Louisiana at Lafayette from 1977 until his retirement in 2016. He was a professor in the Department of Modern Languages, serving as chair of the department and as the first director of the University’s Center for Acadian and Creole Folklore, the largest compilation of media resources pertaining to these two south Louisiana ethnic groups. He was also the co-founder of the Tribute to Cajun Music in 1974, which became the annual Festivals Acadiens. This collection consists of manuscripts from “Suite de loupe” (1998) and “The Makers of Cajun Music” (1984). Dr. Ancelet donated the collection.

COLL 450 – James R. Burke Music Collection

Dr. James R. Burke was a professor of music at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, his career spanning more than 50 years. This collection consists of musical compositions and arrangement for orchestra, concert band, and small ensembles by Dr. Burke. Donated by Gerald J. Guilbeaux of Lafayette, Louisiana.

COLL 458 – Cajun French Music Association Records

The Cajun French Music Association (CFMA) is a non-profit organization of Cajuns and non-Cajuns whose purpose is to promote and preserve Cajun music and various aspects of the Acadian Heritage. This collection consists of correspondence, newsletters, photographs, publications, events material, and audio/visual materials. Donated by the French House (La Maison Française) at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

COLL 492 – Andrew S. Pope Collection

Andrew Pope is a native of Jonesboro, LA. After 43 years of attending operas and concerts, he amassed a large collection with the help of many dealers. This collection contains opera and theater memorabilia Mr. Pope collected over the years. The materials include photographs of vocalists, programs, letters, publicity, music sheets, and postcards. A great number of the photographs and letters have been framed. Andrew Pope donated this collection.

COLL 497 – Phyllis Ann Dupuis Boutte Collection

This collection contains materials belonging to and collected by Ms. Boutte over the years. Subjects include Cajun music and dance, festivals, plants and gardening, and Louisiana history. Much of the collection contains material related to the 1986 film Belizaire the Cajun. Phyllis Boutte donated the collection.

COLL 514 – Bel Canto Music Club (Lafayette, LA) Collection

Bel Canto Music Club was organized on October 14, 1965 in Lafayette, Louisiana. The mission of the organization is to promote interest and study of music in Lafayette. The club is a member of both the National Federation of Music Clubs and Louisiana Federation of Music Clubs. This collection consists of correspondence, minutes of meetings, general records, photographs, clippings, and a scrapbook.

COLL 516 – Acadian Opera Society Scrapbook

The Acadian Opera Society was founded in Lafayette, Louisiana in 1973. The mission of this organization is to seek support for all forms of musical theater, especially opera, throughout southwest Louisiana. This scrapbook contains news clippings, correspondence, music programs, and photographs pertaining to the Acadian Opera Society in the 1970s.

MSS 70 – Eliza Britt Ray Song

"Lovely Louisiana" with words and music by Eliza Britt Ray. Includes mimeograph of music with words, typescript of a poem, 1865-1946. Donated by author-composer, Eliza Britt (Mrs. Archie C.) Ray, in 1969.

MSS 143 – Huey P. Darby Papers

Contains the diary of Huey P. Darby, a swamp pop musician with the bands Randy & The Rockets and Rod Bernard & The Twisters from September 1961 to March 1965. There are also additional notes on performances from May 1968 to September 1961. Photocopied. Donated by Shane K. Bernard, courtesy of Huey P. Darby.

MSS 174 – Altha Lee Kennedy Collection

Contains programs for the Third Annual Y.M.B.C. Minstrels and the Sixth Annual Charity Ball Portraying An Album of Musical Memories.

MSS 248 – Jim Reeves Correspondence

Jim Reeves was an American country and popular music singer-songwriter. His records were on the charts from 1950s-1980s, and he became well known as a practitioner of the Nashville sound (a mixture of older country-style music with elements of popular music). He obtained a job as an announcer for KWKH-AM in Shreveport, Louisiana, then the home of the popular radio program Louisiana Hayride.

Cajun and Creole Music Collection

The Cajun and Creole Music Collection (CCMC) consists of over 9,000 commercial recordings, selected non-commercial recordings, and other music-related research materials. Formats include both analog and digital media: 78rpm, 45rpm, and LP (33 ⅓) records, 8-track tapes, audio-cassette tapes, CDs, VHS tapes, and DVDs. The expanding collection also contains books, periodicals, photographs, artifacts, manuscripts and other archival materials. The many different genres and styles of the Creole and Cajun musical cultures of Southwest and parts of Southeast Louisiana can be found in the CCMC.

COLL 1-B 04 b3 – University Archives: Department of Performing Arts

COLL 1-B 04 b2 – University Archives: Dance

COLL 1-B 04 m – University Archives: Theater

COLL 20 – Espy Williams Collection

Espy Williams was one of Louisiana's best-known playwrights of the latter 19th and early 20th century. This collection centers on the literary career of Espy Williams. It contains news clippings (primarily reviews), flyers and ads for Williams's works, a few photographs, correspondence, two diaries, poetry, essays, librettos, and plays by Williams. Eunice Simonds Osgood (Mrs. Phillips E.) of Summit, New Jersey donated this collection.

COLL 31 – Ernest Jackson Whisler Collection

This collection contains literary material of Ernest Jackson Whisler, a turn-of-the-century writer of plays and folk stories under the name of Jack Whisler. His career appears to span the first half of the 20th century. Lois Whisler of Tucson, Arizona, with the aid of Paul Nolan, donated this collection.

COLL 82 – Playwrights of Lafayette (Louisiana) Collection

This collection contains manuscripts and publicity for one-act plays connected with the Eavesdrop and Playwrights Theatres of Lafayette, Louisiana.

COLL 108 – F. W. “Signor Faranta” Stempel Papers

Scrapbooks and clippings on F.W. Stempel (or Stemple), circus artist and theater owner, whose Iron Theatre in New Orleans provided popular entertainment between 1883 and 1889.

COLL 228 – Mario Fratti Collection

Mario Fratti was born on 5 July 1927 in L'Aquila, a small town in the Abruzzi region of central Italy. Fratti was an Italian and American playwright. He has written numerous plays. This collection consists of biographical information, plays, newspaper clippings, and other published writings.

COLL 266 – I. Hoch Stewart Papers

Ivan Stewart Hoch was an associate professor of theater at the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) and served as Chairman of the Department of Performing Arts. This collection includes production files from about 1974 to 1993 include scene plans, script analyses, cast rosters, sound, and lighting cue sheets, prop lists, costume plans, rehearsal schedules, correspondence, notes, clippings, press releases, publicity photographs, music scores, and performances captured on VHS. The collection also includes teaching materials, including lecture notes and an acting workbook, and theater history research materials. Nancy Hoch donated this collection.

COLL 280 – Acadia Parish Arts Council Collection

This collection contains financial records, correspondence, programs, pamphlets, news clippings, by-laws, tickets to performances, invitations, and artifacts from the Acadia Parish Arts Council. Donated by Alan Kiesel.

COLL 321 – Paul T. Nolan Papers

Paul Thomas Nolan taught English at Southwestern Louisiana Institute (now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) from 1955 to 1988. He was also a prolific author and playwright who founded local theater groups, including the Eavesdrop Theatre and the Louisiana Playwrights' Theatre. This collection contains plays, articles, and books authored by Dr. Nolan. There is also some personal material, including correspondence and playbills. Dr. Nolan’s widow and son, Peggy and John Nolan respectively, donated the collections.

COLL 331 – Renaissance Cadienne Records

Renaissance Cadienne was a performance group established in 1990 for the purpose of preserving the unique culture of the Cajuns of the prairies and bayous of South Louisiana. The group used authentic Cajun/French folk songs and dances in its performances. The collection documents the activities of the group. The collection was donated by May Waggoner.

COLL 369 – Joseph Jefferson Collection

Joseph Jefferson, also known as Joe Jefferson, was a popular 19th century American actor. His most famous role was Rip Van Winkle, which he debuted in 1859 and continued to play for forty years. After the Civil War, he bought Orange Island near New Iberia, La., which he renamed Jefferson Island and where he built his home. This collection consists of correspondence, photographs, clippings, and programs.

COLL 492 – Andrew S. Pope Collection

Andrew Pope is a native of Jonesboro, LA. After 43 years of attending operas and concerts, he amassed a large collection with the help of many dealers. This collection contains opera and theater memorabilia Mr. Pope collected over the years. The materials include photographs of vocalists, programs, letters, publicity, music sheets, and postcards. A great number of the photographs and letters have been framed. Andrew Pope donated this collection.

COLL 516 – Acadian Opera Society Scrapbook

The Acadian Opera Society was founded in Lafayette, Louisiana in 1973. The mission of this organization is to seek support for all forms of musical theater, especially opera, throughout southwest Louisiana. This scrapbook contains news clippings, correspondence, music programs, and photographs pertaining to the Acadian Opera Society in the 1970s.

COLL 520 – John W. Fiero Collection

Dr. John Fiero was a theater professor at University of Southwestern Louisiana (now University of Louisiana at Lafayette), specializing in English Renaissance literature, particularly Shakespeare, history of theater, and dramatic writing.This collection consists of scripts of plays written primarily by John Fiero, who also donated the collection. There are also two plays written by Dr. Paul Nolan, another professor from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The plays are all organized in alphabetical order.

COLL 536 – Cité des Arts Collection

MSS 141 – Lafayette (Louisiana) Civic Theatre, Inc. Miscellaneous Records

Performances held at the Lafayette Municipal Auditorium.

MSS 160 – Jefferson Theatre Programs

Programs from the Jefferson Theatre. Originals.

MSS 168 – Madeleine de Jean Play

Play about Reverend Mother Amelie (Aloysia) Jouve of the Academy of Sacred Heart at Grand Coteau, Louisiana, and General Nathaniel P. Banks during the Civil War.

MSS 198 – Denison’s Select Plays

This publication is from Denison & Company out of Chicago, IL. Plays by Lillian Mortimer.

MSS 231 – Saenger’s St. Charles Theater (New Orleans, LA) Program

Farewell Week: Love ‘Em and Leave ‘Em. Music by St. Charles Theater Orchestra, program 1925-1926.