Skip to Main Content

Resources for Electrical & Computer Engineering

Call Numbers

Electrical and Computer Engineering books are classified in the TK section according to the Library of Congress and can be found on the 2nd floor of Dupré Library.

Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering

  • TK1-9971

Electric meters

  • TK301-399

Electric meters

  • TK452-454.4

Electric apparatus and materials. Electric circuits. Electric networks

  • TK452-454.4

Production of electric energy or power. Power plants. Central stations

  • TK1001-1841

Dynamoelectric machinery and auxiliaries -Including generators, motors, transformers

  • TK2000-2891

Production of electricity by direct energy conversion

  • TK2896-2985

Distribution or transmission of electric power

  • TK3001-3521

Applications of electric power

  • TK4001-4102

Electric lighting

  • TK4125-4399

Electric heating

  • TK4601-4661

Telecommunication - Including telegraphy, telephone, radio, radar, television

  • TK5101-6720

Electronics

  • TK7800-8360

EECE eBooks

EECE Books at Dupré Library

Modeling the Wireless Propagation Channel

by F. Pérez Fontán; P. Mariño Espiñeira
Call Number: TK6570 .M6 P45 2008
Publication Date: 2008

A practical tool for propagation channel modeling with MATLAB simulations.This book takes a very practical approach by introducing the theory in each chapter first, and then carrying out simulations showing how exactly put the theory into practice. The resulting plots are analyzed and commented for clarity, and conclusions are drawn and explained from the obtained results.

An Introduction to LTE

by Christopher Cox
Call Number: TK5103.48325 .C693 2012
Publication Date: 2012

This text provides a concise, systems-based introduction to LTE and LTE-Advanced, covering architecture, radio transmission and reception, system operation and standards specifications.

Cognitive Radio Networks

by Kwang-Cheng Chen; Ramjee Prasad
Call Number: TK5103.4815 .C48 2009
Publication Date: 2009

Giving a basic overview of the technologies supporting cognitive radio this introductory-level text follows a logical approach, starting with the physical layer and concluding with applications and general issues. It provides a background to advances in the field of cognitive radios and a new exploration of how these radios can work together as a network.

Cognitive Radio Communications and Networks

by Alexander M. Wyglinski (Editor); Maziar Nekovee (Editor); Thomas Hou (Editor)
Call Number: TK5103.4815 .C636 2010
Publication Date: 2009

This book gives comprehensive and balanced coverage of the principles of cognitive radio communications, cognitive networks, and details of their implementation, including the latest developments in the standards and spectrum policy. Case studies, end-of-chapter questions, and descriptions of various platforms and test beds, together with sample code, give hands-on knowledge of how cognitive radio systems can be implemented in practice.

Digital Communication Systems

by Simon Haykin
Call Number: TK5103.7 .H39 2014
Publication Date: 2013

Focuses on basic issues, relating theory to practice wherever possible. Numerous examples, worked out in detail, have been included to help the reader develop an intuitive grasp of the theory. Topics covered include the sampling process, digital modulation techniques, error-control coding, robust quantization for pulse-code modulation, coding speech at low bit radio, information theoretic concepts, coding and computer communication.

Free Space Optical Networks for Ultra-Broad Band Services

by Stamatios V. Kartalopoulos; R. Hart
ISBN: 0470647752
Publication Date: 2011

Propagation of light in the atmosphere and phenomena that affect light propagation
FSO transceiver design
Point-to-point FSO systems
Ring FSO systems
Mesh-FSO systems and integrating the Mesh-FSO with the public network
WDM Mesh-FSO
FSO network security
FSO-specific applications

Gigabit-Capable Passive Optical Networks

by D. Hood
Call Number: TK5103.592 .P38 H66 2012
ISBN: 9780470936870
Publication Date: 2012

Gigabit-capable passive optical networks (G-PON) have a large and increasing base of support among telecommunications operators around the world. Written by two of the experts in the field, this book explains G-PON in detail, both the original 2.5 Gb/s version and XG-PON, the 10 Gb/s second generation. The foundation established by this book is also invaluable in understanding NG2 (next-generation 2) G-PON, which is built upon a number of XG-PON systems on parallel wavelengths.

Introduction to Optical Fiber Communications Systems

by William B. Jones
Call Number: TK5103.59 .J66 1988

For seniors or first-year graduate students, this text is a general introduction to optical electronics with a strong emphasis on underlying physical properties and on the design of optical communications systems. Jones provides balanced coverage of optical fibers, transmitting devices, photodetectors, and systems; and pays special attention to topics of emerging importance, including integrated optical devices, heterodyne detection, and coherent optical systems.

Kalman Filtering

by Mohinder S. Grewal; Angus P. Andrews
Call Number: QA402.3 .G695 2015

This book contains the latest developments in the implementation and application of Kalman filtering. The authors present many illustrative examples including adaptations for nonlinear filtering, global navigation satellite systems, the error modeling of gyros and accelerometers, inertial navigation systems, and freeway traffic control.

Linear Estimation

by Thomas Kailath; Ali H. Sayed; Babak Hassibi
Call Number: QA276.8 .K33 2000

This original work offers the most comprehensive and up-to-date treatment of the important subject of optimal linear estimation, which is encountered in many areas of engineering such as communications, control, and signal processing, and also several other fields, e.g., econometrics and statistics.

LTE-Advanced

by Sassan Ahmadi
Call Number: TK5103.48325 .A36 2014

Covers all essential system functionalities, features, and their inter-connections based on a clear protocol structure, including detailed signal flow graphs and block diagrams Includes methodologies and results related to link-level and system-level evaluations of LTE-Advanced Provides understanding and insight into the advanced underlying technologies in LTE-Advanced up to and including Release 11: multi-antenna signal processing, OFDM, carrier aggregation, coordinated multi-point transmission and reception, eICIC, multi-radio coexistence, E-MBMS, positioning methods, real-time and non-real-time wireless multimedia applications

Modeling of Digital Communication Systems Using Simulink

by Arthur A. Giordano; Allen H. Levesque
Call Number: TK5102.83 .G56 2015

Readers will learn to model a wide selection of digital communications techniques and evaluate their performance for many important channel conditions. Modeling of Digital Communication Systems Using SIMULINK is organized in two parts. The first addresses Simulink models of digital communications systems using various modulation, coding, channel conditions and receiver processing techniques. The second part provides a collection of examples, including speech coding, interference cancellation, spread spectrum, adaptive signal processing, Kalman filtering and modulation and coding techniques currently implemented in mobile wireless systems. Covers case examples, progressing from basic to complex Provides applications for mobile communications, satellite communications, and fixed wireless systems that reveal the power of SIMULINK modeling Includes access to useable SIMULINK simulations online

Modern Digital and Analog Communication Systems

by B. P. Lathi; Zhi Ding
Call Number: TK5101 .L333 2009

Features * Flexible organization (outlined in the preface) that accommodates a variety of course structures, including one-semester, two-semester, one-quarter, and two-quarter * Accessible to students with no background in probability theory * Abundant real-world examples that are applicable to students' everyday lives * Gives intuitive insights--rather than just proofs--wherever possible, as well as heuristic explanations of theoretical results A solutions manual is available for adopting professors.

Network Coding

by Tracey Ho; Desmond Lun
Call Number: TK5105 .H585 2008

*Uses an engineering approach - explains the ideas and practical techniques
*Covers mathematical underpinnings, practical algorithms, code selection, security, and network management
*Discusses key topics of inter-session (non-multicast) network coding, lossy networks, lossless networks, and subgraph-selection algorithms Starting with basic concepts, models, and theory, then covering a core subset of results with full proofs

Operation and Modeling of the MOS Transistor

by Yannis P. Tsividis; Colin McAndrew
Call Number: TK7871.99 .M44 T77 2011

Operation and Modeling of the MOS Transistor has become a standard in academia and industry. Extensively revised and updated, the third edition of this highly acclaimed text provides a thorough treatment of the MOS transistor--the key element of modern microelectronic chips.

Principles of Communication Systems Simulation with Wireless Applications

by William H. Tranter; Theodore S. Rappaport; Kurt L. Kosbar; K. Sam Shanmugan
Call Number: TK5102.5 .P673 2004

A hands-on, example-rich guide to simulating wireless communications systems. The first book to present complete MATLAB simulation models for predicting the impact of design changes, it treats every aspect of simulation: sampling, signal and system representations, filters, noise, Monte Carlo simulation, postprocessing, nonlinear and time-varying systems, waveform and discrete channels, co-channel interference, and more. It includes four detailed case studies.

Probabilistic Methods of Signal and System Analysis

by George R. Cooper; Clare D. McGillem
Call Number: TK5102.9 .C59 1999
ISBN: 9780195123548
Publication Date: 1998-09-03

* Stresses engineering applications of probability theory
* Presents the material at a level and in a manner appropriate for engineering majors, as opposed to mathematics majors

Radio Propagation for Modern Wireless Systems

by Henry L. Bertoni
Call Number: TK6553 .B47 2000

A door to the understanding of radio wave propagation for the wireless channel. In-depth study of the effects on path loss of buildings, terrain, and foliage. A unified view of key propagation effects in narrowband and wideband systems, including spatial variation, angle of arrival, and delay spread. Readable account of diffraction at building corners, with worked out examples. Never-before-published coverage of mobile-to-mobile path loss in cities. Effective new ray-based models for site-specific predictions and simulation of channel statistics. Simulations of fast fading and shadow loss.

Space-Time Wireless Channels

by Gregory D. Durgin
Call Number: TK5103.2 .D87 2003

Coverage includes electromagnetic description of space-time channels; first- and second-order statistics of fading channels; angle spectrum concepts; multiple antenna and multipath techniques; array design; and more.

The Comsoc Guide to Passive Optical Networks

by Stephen B. Weinstein; Ting Wang; Yuanqiu Luo
Call Number: TK5103.592 .P38 W45 2012

This book provides a brief, high-level overview of the technology and applications behind the Fiber-to-the-Home (FTTH) or Fiber-to-the-Curb (FTTC) family of standards, which has recently attracted considerable amount of interest in the technical community. The goal of this book is to provide readers with knowledge of the key features of Passive Optical Networks (PON); the different types of PON architectures and standards; key issues of PON devices, management, and their implementation; and the leading participants and business opportunities in access networks.

The Design of CMOS Radio-Frequency Integrated Circuits

by Thomas H. Lee
Call Number: TK7871.99 .M44 L44 2004

This expanded and thoroughly revised edition of Thomas H. Lee's acclaimed guide to the design of gigahertz RF integrated circuits features a completely new chapter on the principles of wireless systems. The chapters on low-noise amplifiers, oscillators and phase noise have been significantly expanded as well. The chapter on architectures now contains several examples of complete chip designs that bring together all the various theoretical and practical elements involved in producing a prototype chip.

Vehicular Networking

by Christoph Sommer; Falko Dressler
Call Number: TE228.37 .S66 2015

Covering both in- and inter-vehicle communication, this comprehensive work outlines the foundations of vehicular networking as well as demonstrating its commercial applications, from improved vehicle performance, to entertainment, and traffic information systems. All of this is supported by in-depth case studies and detailed information on proposed protocols and solutions for access technologies and information dissemination, as well as topics on rulemaking, regulations, and standardization. Importantly, for a field which is attracting increasing commercial interest, you will learn about the future trends of this technology, its problems, and solutions to overcome them.

Wavelength Division Multiplexing

System/link engineering—with practical guidelines
Expert rules of thumb on technology selection and link dimensioning
10/40 Gb/s WDM systems—with real-world examples
Emerging 100 Gb/s systems and technologies
Developments in system access (passive WDM, WDM-PON)
Coherent vs. non-coherent high-capacity transport
Energy efficiency in WDM transport
WDM system and network monitoring
Protection and resilience techniques

White Space Communication Technologies

by Klaus Grobe; Michael Eiselt
Call Number: TK5103.592 .W38 G76 2014

Emerging technologies are discussed and signal processing issues are addressed, providing the background knowledge and practical tools needed to develop future radio technologies. Real-world examples are included, together with global spectrum regulations and policies, for a practical approach to developing technologies for worldwide applications. Cross analog and digital design guidelines are provided to help cut design time and cost.

Search EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)

Full Text Peer Reviewed Catalog Only

Not a student, faculty, or staff member? Use Guest Access.