Movies, Film, and Streaming Video: Home

Library and open access sources of movies, film, and streaming video

Finding movies, film, and streaming video

Not everyone can afford a bunch of streaming video subscriptions, especially on a student budget.  Want to post links to movies, film, and streaming video to share with your class or professor that everyone can use?  Try the following sources:

 

Kanopy Streaming Video (UL Lafayette Login)

Your "Netflix for college," this collection of film and video includes tons of documentaries, art performances, film classics, and deep dives into topics relating to every major.  Stream on campus via computer, Roku, Apple TV, Chromecast, or any iOs or Android device. Through the library subscription, you can set up a free personal account and save your own watch list.

 

Associated Press Archive (YouTube)

The Associated Press (AP) - has been covering news, sports, entertainment, and fashion news since 1895. AP shares their coverage of recent past and historical events through this YouTube channel. Explore history as it was reported at the time with more than 1.7 million news stories, and many featured playlists including Today in History, Drone Views, and Iconic Moments in History. For current and breaking AP stories, go to www.youtube.com/c/ap

 

British Movietone Archive (YouTube)

This newsreel archive covers global news, entertainment, music, science, and lifestyle from 1895 to 1986. All clips were originally shot on 35mm film, and are made available through the Associated Press (AP). Many of the British Movietone playlists are featured on the Associated Press Archive (YouTube) AP YouTube Channel.

 

Library of Congress - Films and Video

The Library of Congress offers more than 6,500 streaming films and videos on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources, including early animation techniques, dancer Katherine Dunham, comedian Danny Kaye, scenes from American life and work from 1894-1915, motion pictures from the Spanish-American War, Nevada ranching culture 1845-1982, early films of New York and San Francisco, and extensive interviews with composers and civil rights leaders.

 

National Film Registry (Selections)

More than 65 historically significant films in the public domain, available for streaming or download from the Library of Congress. The National Film Registry was established to protect America's film heritage with research and preservation. 25 films from a variety of eras are added to the registry list each year. The complete listing (750 films as of Jan. 2018) is available here on the Library of Congress website.

 

POV

Documentaries available for streaming that explore the many points of view from across the globe.  Scroll to bottom of home page to browse by topics including adoption, arts and culture, class and society, criminal justice, environment, family and society, gender, health and aging, history, immigration, international, LGBTQ, music, politics and government, race and ethnicity, religion and spirituality, war and peace, and youth. Courtesy of PBS, the national Public Broadcasting Network.

 

Public.Resource.Org (YouTube)

YouTube channel of government films in the public domain, provided through FedFlix, the Department of Defense, and the International Amateur Scanning League. See also Public.Resource.Org.

 

TV News Archive (Internet Archive)

The Internet Archives began collecting English language television news broadcasts from a wide variety of networks in 2009. Almost 1.5 million news stories are now available in this growing collection, allowing you to search news clips "from 2009 to yesterday" by topic, source, or keywords in the transcripts.

Jennifer Hamilton, Head of Instruction

Jennifer Hamilton's picture
Jennifer Hamilton
Contact:
Room 153, behind the mural in Reference
337-482-1160
Website / Blog Page