Resources for Sociology

Sociology Databases

Find Sociology Databases

Recommended Sociology Databases

Academic Search Complete | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage and indexing of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspaper articles for most academic disciplines.

- Coverage: 1990 – present, updated daily
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: General, Agriculture, Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Chemistry, Communication, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Engineering, English, Geography, GeoScience, Government & Law, History, Humanities, Journalism, Kinesiology, Library Science, Literature, Louisiana Studies, Math & Physics, Modern Languages, Music, News, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage and indexing of peer-reviewed journals on topics including psychology & psychiatry, emotional and behavioral characteristics, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

- Coverage: 1965 – present, updated daily
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: Anthropology, Communicative Disorders, Counseling, Criminal Justice, Nursing, Psychology
SocINDEX with Full-Text | EBSCO ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage and indexing of scholarly journal articles, books, and conference papers in sociology and related areas of study.

- Coverage: 1865 – present, updated regularly
- Access: Received through LOUIS membership
- Vendor: EBSCO
- Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, Education, Government & Law, History, Journalism, Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of the top scientific and scholarly research journals in the world. The collection includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.

- Coverage: 1900 – present, updated weekly
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library
- Vendor: Clarivate
- Subjects: General, Agriculture, Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communication, Communicative Disorders, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Education, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, English, Geography, GeoScience, Government & Law, History, Humanities, Journalism, Literature, Math & Physics, Modern Languages, Music, Nursing, Petroleum Engineering, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Zoology

Additional Behavioral Sciences Databases

Counseling and Therapy in Video | Alexander Street ** This link opens in a new window
Videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.

- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library
- Vendor: Clarivate
- Subjects: Education, Nursing, Psychology, Sociology
DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision ** This link opens in a new window
Full-text, online access to the DSM-5.

- Coverage: 2013
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library
- Vendor: American Psychiatric Association Publishing
- Subjects: Communicative Disorders Health, Psychology, Reference, Sociology
DSM-5 Clinical Cases ** This link opens in a new window
Presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in the DSM-5.

- Coverage: 2014
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library
- Vendor: American Psychiatric Association Publishing
- Subjects: Communicative Disorders, Health, Psychology, Sociology
DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis ** This link opens in a new window
Presents a variety of approaches to psychiatric diagnosis, including a six-step diagnostic framework, bottom-up decision trees, and differential diagnosis tables.

- Coverage: 2014
- Access: Purchased by Dupré Library
- Vendor: American Psychiatric Association Publishing
- Subjects: Communicative Disorders, Health, Psychology, Sociology

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A comprehensive collection of statistics covering the social, political, and economic environment of the United States.

Ordering Articles Not Available at Dupré Library

Many online databases link to full-text articles, either directly or through the LinkSource service. If the article is not available full-text, LinkSource can search Dupré Library's holdings for a print copy of the article. LinkSource also facilitates an Interlibrary Loan ILLiad request when a Dupré Library copy is not available, which allows you to order the article via Interlibrary Loan. Look for the Link Source logo when using online databases.