Resources for Political Science
- Find Articles
- Find Books
- Full Text Online Journals
- Internet & Other Resources
- International Business
- International Politics
- National Governments
- Questions? Ask Us!
Links to All Guides
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Looking for Research Articles?
To find articles on a current topic in political science, check out one of these databases. Magazine and journal articles are published more frequently than books and other information, so they may be used to find current information.
The Library's Reference Online Center (ROC Lab) has many other databases listed, from general to specific. Remember, these databases are only for use by University of Louisiana at Lafayette students, faculty and staff. Use your ULID and password to access from off-campus.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowContemporary scholarly analyses of both domestic and global political phenomenon.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reports on contemporary issues. Provides background information, current developments and opposing viewpoints.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDrawing analogies between events leading to the beginning and subsequent end of a government.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for general, business, legal and political news articles, and other information.
- MarciveWeb DOCS This link opens in a new windowContemporary government analysis of domestic and international political events and institutions
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text, online access to humanities and social sciences journals. Dupré Library subscribes to the Standard Collection.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Citation Index is a comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the social sciences accessed through Web of Science.
What is a Database?
View this helpful video, Article Databases in Five Minutes, created by NCSU libraries. It provides an overview of article databases and key features for searching article databases effectively.